Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Is this a legal steal?

  1. #1
    I'm a fan leerph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Is this a legal steal?

    Playing against a local college team last Saturday. They run this delayed steal. Ump allowed it. I always thought that if the pitcher was in the circle with the ball and the runner hasn't already made a move towards second that they couldn't then take off for second. If it's legal it's a pretty sweet trick play. https://youtu.be/mtZ8Gx_FX_0

  2. #2
    Softball Junkie DRDRODD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South East
    Posts
    520
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 187 Times in 113 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leerph View Post
    Playing against a local college team last Saturday. They run this delayed steal. Ump allowed it. I always thought that if the pitcher was in the circle with the ball and the runner hasn't already made a move towards second that they couldn't then take off for second. If it's legal it's a pretty sweet trick play. https://youtu.be/mtZ8Gx_FX_0
    DD’s team would do this often in 10U & 12U..... Notice how she walks on top of the foul line back to the base...... I am not 100% on this but I believe she is in an uncommitted State, if she stays on the line..... which a look back or hesitation rule wouldn’t apply to.... I am sure someone else will chime in but in my experience it is 100% legal.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Softball Junkie inde53546's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Wi
    Posts
    787
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 220 Times in 161 Posts

    Default

    In ncaa that is legal. In ASA/USA once you start coming back to 1b w the ball in the circle i believe you are committed to 1b

    Sent from my LGLS775 using Tapatalk

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to inde53546 For This Useful Post:

    riseball (09-10-2018)

  5. #4
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    8,686
    Thanks
    5,516
    Thanked 6,722 Times in 3,451 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by inde53546 View Post
    In ncaa that is legal. In ASA/USA once you start coming back to 1b w the ball in the circle i believe you are committed to 1b

    Sent from my LGLS775 using Tapatalk
    This ^^^ is also my understanding.
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  6. #5
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,262
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 708 Times in 490 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DRDRODD View Post
    DD’s team would do this often in 10U & 12U..... Notice how she walks on top of the foul line back to the base...... I am not 100% on this but I believe she is in an uncommitted State, if she stays on the line..... which a look back or hesitation rule wouldn’t apply to.... I am sure someone else will chime in but in my experience it is 100% legal.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Don't know where you got that, but there is no such rule involving the foul line and it is only legal in NCAA ball

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to MTR For This Useful Post:

    GunnerShotgun (09-10-2018)

  8. #6
    Softball Junkie DRDRODD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South East
    Posts
    520
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 187 Times in 113 Posts

    Default Is this a legal steal?

    Quote Originally Posted by MTR View Post
    Don't know where you got that, but there is no such rule involving the foul line
    Well I believe the baseline thing may be the sneaky part about it and also adds protection or at least, how the coach taught it to our girls...... if the first basemen held on to the ball and tried to tag you just step outside the line...... I would think a red flag would go up if someone would be cheating there way towards 2nd during the walk back but that’s just me.

    Edit: also remember something about if you turn right into foul territory and the ball is in the circle you must return to the base 🤨


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #7
    I can talk softball all day Gags's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    382
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 127 Times in 98 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DRDRODD View Post
    Well I believe the baseline thing may be the sneaky part about it and also adds protection or at least, how the coach taught it to our girls...... if the first basemen held on to the ball and tried to tag you just step outside the line......
    I believe the coach may be incorrect on this one - I don’t think the foul line is even referenced in the rule - all that matters is whether the runner has made a move towards 2B (I think the rule uses the word ‘intent’?) - once that happens, the runner loses their immunity.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #8
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,121
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,570 Times in 929 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DRDRODD View Post
    DD’s team would do this often in 10U & 12U..... Notice how she walks on top of the foul line back to the base...... I am not 100% on this but I believe she is in an uncommitted State, if she stays on the line..... which a look back or hesitation rule wouldn’t apply to.... I am sure someone else will chime in but in my experience it is 100% legal.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Just to add on to the other comments, nothing in the rule says anything about the foul line or being on one side or the other. What was shown in the video is only legal in NCAA, any other rule set once the batter/runner moves back toward 1st base with the ball in the circle they are committed to 1st, she should be ruled out in any other softball rule set.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    GunnerShotgun (09-10-2018)

  12. #9
    Softball Junkie DRDRODD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South East
    Posts
    520
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 187 Times in 113 Posts

    Default

    This is the first time I have seen that play ran since those days, 5 years ago and the only other team besides DD'S team to actually attempt it, probably because it is an illegal play. The coach that taught this to the team was a former college player so I can understand where the mix up could happen. As parents we didn't know any better, I mean after all the coach was a 2 time All-American . The umpires always let it go also, probably attempted about a dozen times in 2 yrs, officiating usually wasn't very strong at our local USFA or FASA tournaments. Anyways thanks everyone for the letting me know that it is only legal in NCAA play.

  13. #10
    Certified softball maniac Westwind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,727
    Thanks
    2,236
    Thanked 927 Times in 535 Posts

    Default

    Player on dd’s team did this all summer long. Exactly how the runner in the video did it. Got called once maybe twice. Not in little local tournaments either, and all were USA rule set. She supposedly did it all spring in hs.

    I don’t think anyone completely understands this rule. Kill this rule. With fire.
    There are three things you can do in softball. You can win. You can lose. It can rain.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --