Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Obstruction or Interference- where do the runners go?

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 74 Times in 44 Posts

    Default Obstruction or Interference- where do the runners go?

    I have an idea, but I can't convince myself I'm right, so I'll open this to the forum.
    NFHS RULES.
    Bases loaded less than 2 out
    Grounder to second base
    2B misplays the ball, and it gets by her-NEAR THE OUTFIELD GRASS NOT WITHIN HER REACH
    Runner going from first to second runs over 2b who's still down low from attempting to field the grounder. This causes the runner to be upended and she is laying on her stomach between the bases.

    So do you rule A. obstruction, B. interference, or C. nothing. If A or B where do you put the runners?
    Last edited by Big Daddy Michigan; 06-13-2018 at 01:22 PM.

  2. #2
    Checking out the clubhouse Mike Hurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Depends on sanction but, I would say A. In NFHS, if the misplayed ball is within a "step and reach" you could possibly have interference.

  3. #3
    Softball Junkie inde53546's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Wi
    Posts
    780
    Thanks
    105
    Thanked 220 Times in 161 Posts

    Default

    Youll have to give us scenarios of where the ball went. In USA thats obs. In most others if the ball went further than step and reach its obs.

    Sent from my LGLS775 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    I can talk softball all day Comocoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 231 Times in 108 Posts

    Default

    A. Delayed dead ball. Let the play finish. If the runner from first is put out, place her where she would have ended up if she hadn't been obstructed.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Comocoach For This Useful Post:

    corlay (06-13-2018)

  6. #5
    Softball Junkie Ajaywill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    768
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 315 Times in 213 Posts

    Default

    Going strictly by your description of the result of the contact between the two players, C is not an option.

    I envision "2B misplays the ball, and it gets by her" as the ball now rolling into right field well past F4. If this is the case, I have Obstruction in all rule sets. More than likely, I'm only protecting the runner from first to second base.

    Under NFHS rules, if the ball is still within a step and a reach in any direction including behind the fielder, I have interference, the ball is dead, the runner is declared out, the Batter-Runner is awarded first base and any other runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. Most likely that is second and third, but there is the possibility that with fast runners or a slow rolling ground ball that one or both of those runners could have reached the next base before the interference.

  7. #6
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 74 Times in 44 Posts

    Default

    I added the missing info into the original post, but it was NFHS & after the original miss-play of the ball it was near the OF grass and not in reach.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --