Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Interference or Obstruction on hit and run?

  1. #1
    I'm a fan mmeece's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts

    Default Interference or Obstruction on hit and run?

    Obviously, I wish I had video but I'll describe it as best I can. Runner on first steals and the batter executes a near perfect hit and run, hitting behind the runner in the space the 2nd baseman vacated to cover the base. When 2nd baseman is about 8 feet from the base she sees where the ball was hit and makes a sharp left turn directly into the runner stealing 2nd, who is arriving at the same spot at the same time. The 2nd baseman had no chance at a play on the fairly hard hit ball. It was a Triple Crown Tourney if it matters.

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 60 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    A fielder with out the ball collided with a runner. Sounds like Obstruction.

  3. #3
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,059
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,534 Times in 903 Posts

    Default

    Going to depend completely on the umpires judgement on if the fielder had a play on the batted ball or not.

  4. #4
    Certified softball maniac obbay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    2,173
    Thanks
    1,992
    Thanked 622 Times in 341 Posts

    Default

    I noted in another thread (2) times where umpires called someting similar interference. I dont like it or agree with it, but i think their excuse was that they dont know if the 2B would have made the play or not because of the collision. In your case i think you had to be there- if the runner couldnt see it coming, it might have just been one of those things

  5. #5
    Allergic to BS Strike2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    495
    Thanks
    324
    Thanked 323 Times in 199 Posts

    Default

    In order for there to be interference in the situation you describe, the defensive player needs to have some reasonable chance at a play. From the description, it appears that the 2B put herself out of normal fielding position to cover the bag, and then reversed direction when she saw the ball. If, in the umpire's judgement, she was close enough to have a play on the ball, and was prevented by the collision with the runner, then interference would be the correct call. Anything other than that should be obstruction. 2B being out of position on this play appears no different than if there had been contact between a runner and fielder just off 1B or 3B with a hard ground ball heading towards RCF.

  6. #6
    I'm a fan mmeece's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts

    Default

    It was called interference because "I don't know if she had a play or not. Your runner took her out." She was not within 20 feet of a hard hit ball and clearly had no play. It was closer to the 1st baseman who wasn't even close enough to dive for it. There was no reason the runner could have anticipated her sudden change in direction. The same home plate umpire who made this call allowed the field umpire to reverse a tag play on a bunt along the first base line when the field ump was in no position to see the tag.

  7. #7
    Checking out the clubhouse jbuxton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    La Crosse, WI
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I believe the NFHS rules state something along the lines of "Step and a reach" for obstruction. If the player is over 10 feet away, a step and reach seems unlikely. Hard to argue without seeing the play.

  8. #8
    Softball Junkie Ajaywill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    760
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 313 Times in 211 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jbuxton View Post
    I believe the NFHS rules state something along the lines of "Step and a reach" for obstruction. If the player is over 10 feet away, a step and reach seems unlikely. Hard to argue without seeing the play.
    The "step and a reach" you refer to only applies to a batted ball that an infielder has deflected. That is not the case in the OP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --