Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: pitching cirle look back rule question

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse rebeldesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 29 Times in 10 Posts

    Default pitching cirle look back rule question

    watched a game where when the ball went into play as the play would wind down the 2nd baseman would run to the circle to implement the look back rule. the pitcher did not have the ball but was in the circle. runner on 2nd was off base and started to 3rd and stopped and watched ...before the 2nd baseman handed the ball to the pitcher, blue called runner on 2nd out for look back rule violation.

    so my question is, does it have to be the pitcher that has control of the ball in the circle for the look back rule to be in effect? I have looked in usa rulebook to see if I could find anything, and the only thing I can find only talks about the pitcher having control of the ball in the circle.

    I have my opinions on it but want to seek the wisdom of this forum.

    thank you

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day colin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    maritimes
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    836
    Thanked 121 Times in 88 Posts

    Default

    shouldn't matter if baserunner is frozen. can go back or forward.

  3. #3
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,046
    Thanks
    2,723
    Thanked 2,367 Times in 1,514 Posts

    Default

    Yes, it needs to be the pitcher.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to quincy For This Useful Post:

    rebeldesign (02-05-2018)

  5. #4
    I can talk softball all day Crabby_Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rebeldesign View Post
    [...]

    so my question is, does it have to be the pitcher that has control of the ball in the circle for the look back rule to be in effect? I have looked in usa rulebook to see if I could find anything, and the only thing I can find only talks about the pitcher having control of the ball in the circle.

    [...]
    The Pitcher. 8.7.T3

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Crabby_Bob For This Useful Post:

    rebeldesign (02-05-2018)

  7. #5
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,128
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 636 Times in 440 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rebeldesign View Post
    so my question is, does it have to be the pitcher that has control of the ball in the circle for the look back rule to be in effect? I have looked in usa rulebook to see if I could find anything, and the only thing I can find only talks about the pitcher having control of the ball in the circle.
    You have answered your own question.

  8. #6
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,749
    Thanks
    758
    Thanked 1,101 Times in 568 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by colin View Post
    shouldn't matter if baserunner is frozen. can go back or forward.
    In a timely manner which is subjective. The runner must decided one way or

  9. #7
    Checking out the clubhouse rebeldesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 29 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    thanks, in my opinion I felt it had to be the pitcher who had to have the ball in the circle. I just needed to be sure on it. thank you all for your responses

  10. #8
    Certified softball maniac djcarter1966's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,695
    Thanks
    662
    Thanked 1,013 Times in 641 Posts

    Default

    What age group?? I have seen local rules for maybe 8U that have rules like this again it would be a local rule that said "once the BALL" is in the circle players must return to base or proceed to next.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --