Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Interference or obstruction

  1. #1
    Finding my way 4 girl's dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Back on the dirt
    Posts
    1,340
    Thanks
    1,543
    Thanked 567 Times in 380 Posts

    Default Interference or obstruction



    I think they got the call wrong but both umps called it at the same time so Im not sure.
    Do not argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  2. #2
    TMD
    TMD is offline
    I can talk softball all day TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    123
    Thanked 233 Times in 99 Posts

    Default

    Tough to see exactly (was the ball fair when 1B fielded it?), and would love to hear what our resident umps have to say. If the 1B fielded the ball cleanly before contact, can there be interference? And if 1B was in the act of fielding the ball, can there be obstruction?

  3. #3
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,576
    Thanks
    2,423
    Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,362 Posts

    Default

    Batter is out. 1 fielder is allowed the right to field the ball without getting run over, 1st baseperson is the video.

  4. #4
    I can talk softball all day MacLobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    327
    Thanked 101 Times in 58 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quincy View Post
    Batter is out. 1 fielder is allowed the right to field the ball without getting run over, 1st baseperson is the video.
    I agree. Batter should be out.

  5. #5
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,937
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,428 Times in 844 Posts

    Default

    So what was the call? Dont really see a call in the video and you dont mention what it was. I see the umpire stick his left arm out, but he did it just as the fielder picked up the ball, I would assume it to be pointing fair and not an obstruction call, but dont know for sure.

    F3 was fielding the ball, they have every right to be there and it should not be obstruction. The batter/runner, or any runner for that matter must give the defensive player the opportunity to field the ball unimpeded, and to answer one of the other posts, yes you can have interference after a fielder has already fielded the ball.

    After watching it again I see U1 also stick his left arm out so I assume the call was obstruction. Not sure how they come up with that call since F3 has the right to field the ball. Unless they were ruling F3 did something besides just field the ball like throw a hip out into the runner or something.
    Last edited by Comp; 12-04-2017 at 12:01 PM.

  6. #6
    I'm a fan chardrok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts

    Default

    Interesting move for F3 to run foul to then backhand the fair ball.
    *********
    Jon in Texas

  7. #7
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,576
    Thanks
    2,423
    Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,362 Posts

    Default

    Might be the angle and SS playing deep but the 3nd baseperson seems awfully close, looks like every knew she was bunting

  8. #8
    Finding my way 4 girl's dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Back on the dirt
    Posts
    1,340
    Thanks
    1,543
    Thanked 567 Times in 380 Posts

    Default

    Obstruction was the call. Batter safe.
    Do not argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  9. #9
    Certified softball maniac djcarter1966's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1,582
    Thanks
    612
    Thanked 924 Times in 584 Posts

    Default

    As an ump when the ball is touched your instinct should have you pointing into fair territory to indicate fair ball or hands up for a foul ball. Does not look like that happened here.

    Given the messed that ensued the cowards way out about two seconds after the collision would just be to start yelling "foul ball, foul ball".

    but wanting to make sure that you do the right thing the only call I see here has to be interference, the fielder has the right to the ball period the fact she overran the ball and had to backhand it should not matter.

    If the umpire was open to a clear and calm one minute discussion about what his ruling was I don't think he could have explained it, even to himself, after he had a chance to think about it. The fielder is not standing there waiting for a throw without the ball or standing there for no reason the fielder is "in the act of fielding the ball" and that is always paramount in these situations.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to djcarter1966 For This Useful Post:

    4 girl's dad (12-04-2017)

  11. #10
    Checking out the clubhouse brainchaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Just curious what the runner should have done here. Is there no protection at all for the runner in the running lane? Can she go around on the fair side or should she go further around on the foul side?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --