Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: When does the batter have to get in the box?

  1. #11
    I can talk softball all day Crabby_Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TMD View Post
    and then there's this...not against the rules (outside of USA rule set), but would drive me crazy.
    [NCAA] The pitcher has ten seconds to be on the plate after receiving the ball. The batter has ten seconds to be in the box after the pitcher receives the ball.

  2. #12
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
    [NCAA] The pitcher has ten seconds to be on the plate after receiving the ball. The batter has ten seconds to be in the box after the pitcher receives the ball.
    The rule actually states the pitcher, catcher and batter all have 10 seconds to be in position after the pitcher receives the ball. It is not 10 for the pitcher and then another 10 for the batter.

    10.18 Time Allowed Between Pitches
    The pitcher must be on the pitcher’s plate, the catcher in the catcher’s box
    and the batter in the batter’s box within 10 seconds after the pitcher receives
    the ball in preparation to pitch or after the umpire calls, “Play ball.” After
    the pitcher, catcher and batter are in position, the pitcher has 10 seconds to
    bring her hands together. The pitcher then has not more than five seconds to
    deliver the pitch.

  3. #13
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TMD View Post
    and then there's this...not against the rules (outside of USA rule set), but would drive me crazy.

    Pretty easy to remedy, as soon as she starts walking away say batter return to the batters box and then start counting to 10.

  4. #14
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,513
    Thanks
    2,387
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 1,351 Posts

    Default

    I counted it a little bit and she was not even close to 10 seconds, running half way to 1st all the time was what I found annoying. Did it well under 10 seconds though.

  5. #15
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quincy View Post
    I counted it a little bit and she was not even close to 10 seconds, running half way to 1st all the time was what I found annoying. Did it well under 10 seconds though.
    Based on NCAA rule of 10 seconds from when pitcher gets the ball and using a stop watch I have the first 2 at almost exactly 10 seconds when she finally steps in, the foul ball one I have no idea when the pitcher got the ball so started timing when the on deck batter handed her the bat and it was 14 seconds when she stepped in and the last one I had at 12 seconds.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    quincy (11-14-2017)

  7. #16
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,055
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 417 Posts

    Default

    Part of this rule was also to eliminate the "unofficial" visits from the coach when the coach comes halfway and has a short convo with the batter who, like the one above, likes to stroll down the line. Used to constantly here, "just cheering her on" when it is obvious "cheering" was the last thing happening. You wouldn't believe some of the BS when the umpire would inform the coach it was considered a conference and if it happened again in the inning, the coach would be ejected.

  8. #17
    I can talk softball all day Crabby_Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    The rule actually states the pitcher, catcher and batter all have 10 seconds to be in position after the pitcher receives the ball. It is not 10 for the pitcher and then another 10 for the batter.

    10.18 Time Allowed Between Pitches
    The pitcher must be on the pitcher’s plate, the catcher in the catcher’s box
    and the batter in the batter’s box within 10 seconds after the pitcher receives
    the ball in preparation to pitch or after the umpire calls, “Play ball.” After
    the pitcher, catcher and batter are in position, the pitcher has 10 seconds to
    bring her hands together. The pitcher then has not more than five seconds to
    deliver the pitch.
    Correct. I did not state the "10 for the pitcher and then another 10 for the batter."

  9. #18
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
    Correct. I did not state the "10 for the pitcher and then another 10 for the batter."
    You stated the batter has ten seconds after the pitcher is on the pitching plate and that is not the rule. The pitcher, batter and catcher all have the same ten seconds to be in position. The pitcher engaging the pitching plate has nothing to do with the batter.

  10. #19
    I can talk softball all day Crabby_Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    You stated the batter has ten seconds after the pitcher is on the pitching plate and that is not the rule. The pitcher, batter and catcher all have the same ten seconds to be in position. The pitcher engaging the pitching plate has nothing to do with the batter.
    No, I actually stated:
    Quote Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
    [NCAA] ... The batter has ten seconds to be in the box after the pitcher receives the ball.

  11. #20
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    My apologies, must have misread it trying to respond from my phone.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --