Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Interference?

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse S Spiff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 30 Times in 15 Posts

    Default Interference?

    With runners at first and second, a ground ball was hit to short. The shortstop started the play positioned behind the baseline, and the runner from second is running a direct path from second to third. The shortstop charges the ball and attempts to field it in the baseline right before the runner arrives. The shortstop got to the ball before any collision but didn't field the ball cleanly. The ball popped out of her glove toward the pitcher. But very quickly after the shortstop dropped the ball, the runner from second collided with her. They both fell.

    At least that's what I believe I saw. The runner from second was mine, so I'm biased. She says she was watching the ball to try and make sure she didn't get hit and didn't see the shortstop charging in until it was too late to avoid her.

    The ump ultimately called the runner out for interference. ASA rules (USA I suppose). No one got hurt, and it wasn't a gamechanging play. As I sat waiting for them to decide what to do, I thought (alternatively, I was hoping) the runner might be called safe since the shortstop had already dropped the ball before the collision. In fact, I thought it might have been obstruction since she didn't have the ball when the collision happened. But the collision was very quick after the attempt to field the ball. If the ump thought the fielder might have picked up the ball and made a play on someone but for the collision, I'd say that was doubtful. But I don't even know if that matters.

    Where do you draw the line? When does responsibility shift from the runner giving the fielder a chance to make a play to the fielder getting out of the runner's path?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,888
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,395 Times in 821 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by S Spiff View Post
    With runners at first and second, a ground ball was hit to short. The shortstop started the play positioned behind the baseline, and the runner from second is running a direct path from second to third. The shortstop charges the ball and attempts to field it in the baseline right before the runner arrives. The shortstop got to the ball before any collision but didn't field the ball cleanly. The ball popped out of her glove toward the pitcher. But very quickly after the shortstop dropped the ball, the runner from second collided with her. They both fell.

    At least that's what I believe I saw. The runner from second was mine, so I'm biased. She says she was watching the ball to try and make sure she didn't get hit and didn't see the shortstop charging in until it was too late to avoid her.

    The ump ultimately called the runner out for interference. ASA rules (USA I suppose). No one got hurt, and it wasn't a gamechanging play. As I sat waiting for them to decide what to do, I thought (alternatively, I was hoping) the runner might be called safe since the shortstop had already dropped the ball before the collision. In fact, I thought it might have been obstruction since she didn't have the ball when the collision happened. But the collision was very quick after the attempt to field the ball. If the ump thought the fielder might have picked up the ball and made a play on someone but for the collision, I'd say that was doubtful. But I don't even know if that matters.

    Where do you draw the line? When does responsibility shift from the runner giving the fielder a chance to make a play to the fielder getting out of the runner's path?
    USA rules and case plays say this is not interference, as long as the runner did not intentionally run into the fielder. The fielder gets one chance to field the ball, once it is deflected the runner must do something the umpire judges to be intentional to be called for interference. Not only does the case play say it is not interference, but should be ruled obstruction on the fielder.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    CPEM (10-12-2017), S Spiff (10-10-2017)

  4. #3
    Checking out the clubhouse S Spiff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 30 Times in 15 Posts

    Default

    Thanks. That is pretty much how I saw it, but of course, they may have seen something different.

  5. #4
    Allergic to BS Strike2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    367
    Thanks
    261
    Thanked 243 Times in 154 Posts

    Default

    Not so fast...

    It really is a judgement call. The ball popping out of the glove doesn't necessarily end the fielder's play on the ball, or relieve the runner of responsibility to avoid contact. The OP said the ball went back towards the pitcher, but we don't know if it was one foot away or six feet. If, in the ump's judgement, the fielder still has a reasonable shot at a play, the interference rule would still apply, regardless of runner intent. If it actually "deflected" away from the fielder prior to contact, and that fielder could not have recovered it and just stood in the runner's way, then it shouldn't be interference.

    The way it's described, it's a "bang-bang" play. Alternatively, the umpire might have judged that the runner's path was too close to the fielder and caused the fielder to be distracted and misplay the ball. Contact isn't necessary for an interference call.

    If the ball, fielder, and runner all reach the same spot, interference is a likely call. It's a challenge to keep track of the ball and fielder while running, but it becomes easier with experience. It's always safer to run behind the fielder, and it's legal for the runner to run out of the baseline while attempting to avoid a collision with a fielder going for the ball.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Strike2 For This Useful Post:

    Easton33 (10-14-2017), S Spiff (10-12-2017)

  7. #5
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,888
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,395 Times in 821 Posts

    Default

    That is not what the USA rule and case play say. Once the ball is deflected the runner must do something intentional to interfere with the fielder. It does not matter if the fielder still has an opportunity to make the play, it is now a deflected ball and once defl cted the runner must do something the umpire judges to be intentional. Nfhs does continue to protect the fielder within a step and reach but USA does not.

  8. #6
    Allergic to BS Strike2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    367
    Thanks
    261
    Thanked 243 Times in 154 Posts

    Default

    Comp...please point me to the page in the USA rulebook that says that.

    Further...define "deflected". Is that a change in the velocity vector that sends the ball in a different direction, or it simply falls out of the glove at the player's feet?

    In the case of the former, I'm with you. With the latter, I've yet to see an umpire not call interference. I can only imagine a coach's reaction if you told him that a runner colliding with a fielder with the ball within reach is not interference.
    Last edited by Strike2; 10-11-2017 at 12:46 PM.

  9. #7
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,888
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,395 Times in 821 Posts

    Default

    Don't have my rule book on me at moment but the rule under interference says intentionally with a deflected batted ball. And the case play that goes along with it is a ground ball to f6 that is bobbled and dropped. As f6 is bending over to pick up the ball the runner from second collides with the fielder. The ruling is it is not interference as the ball was deflected by the fielder and the runner must do something intentional to be called for interference. It goes on to state not only is it not interference but should be ruled obstruction on f6. I can get the rule and case play later.

    If an umpire does call a runner out for interference on a deflected ball you need to approach and ask the reasoning for their ruling. If they say it was because the fielder still had an opportunity for an out you now have grounds for a protest. It must be judged to be intentional by the runner once the ball was muffed by the fielder. As already stated, nfhs and USSSA are different and protect the fielder for a step and reach.
    Last edited by Comp; 10-11-2017 at 03:09 PM.

  10. #8
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,888
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,395 Times in 821 Posts

    Default

    The usa rule is 8-7-J-4.

    The case play:
    PLAY: With R1 on 2B, B2 hits a ground ball to F6 who tries to field the ball and bobbles it. R1, trying to advance to 3B, attempts to get around F6 who is picking up the deflected batted ball. In doing so, R1 bumps F6 advancing to 3B. The umpire calls “dead ball” and calls R1 out for interference because the ball has not passed F6 and F6 still had an opportunity to make an out on B2.
    Ruling: Incorrect ruling. If protested correctly, the umpire should reverse his ruling and “obstruction” should be called since this interference was not intentional. When a runner intentionally interferes with any defensive player having the opportunity to make an out with the deflected batted ball, the ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. Rule 8, Section 7J[4]

  11. #9
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,640
    Thanks
    712
    Thanked 1,002 Times in 518 Posts

    Default

    USSSA:

    The fielder is still considered to be making an initial play if the fielder fails to gain
    control of the batted ground ball and is within a step and a reach (in any direction) of the
    spot of the initial play.

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GunnerShotgun For This Useful Post:

    Easton33 (10-13-2017), S Spiff (10-12-2017)

  13. #10
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,040
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 592 Times in 415 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GunnerShotgun View Post
    USSSA:

    The fielder is still considered to be making an initial play if the fielder fails to gain
    control of the batted ground ball and is within a step and a reach (in any direction) of the
    spot of the initial play.
    Yeah, that is a little absurd.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --