Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: rules for robbing an HR on a temp fence?

  1. #1
    Certified softball maniac corlay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    1,098
    Thanks
    634
    Thanked 882 Times in 456 Posts

    Default rules for robbing an HR on a temp fence?

    After watching Aaron Judge using his length to rob an HR at the RF wall the other night,
    I got to thinking: what are the rules in fastpitch?

    If there is a temp fence like we see so often.
    What is the technical rule for making a catch at the fence?

    Must a player's feet remain on fair side of fence when making a catch?
    or can they blow through it and catch the ball?
    may they jump from the fair side, and travel airborne through the fence and make the catch before making contact with the ground?
    etc.

    I'm just curious.

  2. #2
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 911 Posts

    Default

    There are going to be some differences between rule sets. USA if the temp fence goes down it becomes an extension of the field and the fielder can stand on it to catch the ball. In nfhs the fence line is the boundary and if it goes down the fielder cannot stand on it to catch the ball, but the rule states the fence must be completely horizontal. If the fielder jumps from live ball territory, catches the ball and falls through or over the temp fence it is a legal catch but also a carry and any runners would be awarded 1 base. If the fielder contacts anything in dead ball territory beyond the fence before catching the ball it is not a legal catch and would be a home run.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    corlay (10-10-2017), JohnnyO (10-10-2017)

  4. #3
    Certified softball maniac canyonjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,869
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 999 Times in 580 Posts

    Default

    I saw a kid rob an HR a couple of years ago. She sprinted to Right Center and just dove and caught ball before she landed. It was unreal.

  5. #4
    TMD
    TMD is offline
    I can talk softball all day TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 291 Times in 129 Posts

    Default

    Would "catch and carry" apply is the outfielder leapt, made the catch, and her momentum carried her over/through the temp fence before touching ground again? I thought they had to have touched after the catch in live ball territory before moving into dead ball territory for C&C to come into play.

  6. #5
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 911 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TMD View Post
    Would "catch and carry" apply is the outfielder leapt, made the catch, and her momentum carried her over/through the temp fence before touching ground again? I thought they had to have touched after the catch in live ball territory before moving into dead ball territory for C&C to come into play.
    No, if the fielder ends up in dead ball territory with the ball it is a catch and carry. Only thing for the umpire to determine is if it was intentionally or unintentionally carried into dead ball territory.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    TMD (10-10-2017)

  8. #6
    I can talk softball all day Gambler Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    356
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 145 Times in 100 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    No, if the fielder ends up in dead ball territory with the ball it is a catch and carry. Only thing for the umpire to determine is if it was intentionally or unintentionally carried into dead ball territory.
    What would be the different rulings if a player intentionally or unintentionally carried the ball into dead ball territory?

  9. #7
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 911 Posts

    Default

    Unintentionally carrying the ball into dead ball territory is a one base award, intentional is 2 bases.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --