Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Should this be an appeal, only?

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse slagothar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Should this be an appeal, only?

    OK, here is the situation. Batter has a count of 3-2 (per PU and scoreboard). Next pitch, ball. Batter runs to first. Base Umpire runs in and yells "that is only ball 3", overruling PU. Other team thought it was ball four, our team thought it was ball four, but PU reverses call. Is this proper? Should this have been an appeal play by the other team? Not sure if it matters, but BU was actually correct, it was only ball 3 (I am scorekeeper ). My contention is that the BU can talk to PU to overrule if there is an appeal by the other team, but can BU step in like this? Interested in thoughts.

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Sparky Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,359
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 1,163 Times in 641 Posts

    Default

    For the umpteenth time. No umpire can overrule another. The base umpire came in and gave the PU the correct count. The PU took the information and corrected his count. That is good umpiring there, especially if they conferred with the home team scorekeeper. If the home team scorekeeper confirms the BU's count, correct the situation and play on. There is no appeal.
    WOC: "Only the names change."

  3. #3
    Checking out the clubhouse slagothar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OK, thanks. But if PU and BU have different counts, if the BU steps in with a different count, how is that not an overrule? Especially if scoreboard (electronic scoreboard) agrees with PU. For the record, if I had been asked, I would have told the truth and agreed with BU; but, since the other team was not contesting the ball 4 call, how is it the BU role to step in and challenge the ball 4 call of PU? Shouldn't this be an opportunity for the other team to appeal?

  4. #4
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,855
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,348 Times in 807 Posts

    Default

    Well, I wouldnt come in yelling it was only ball 3 if I was base umpire but I would call time and come in and have a discussion with the plate umpire about our different counts. And no, it is not only an appeal situation. But, it is still the PU call to keep or change based on the information available to them. Additionally, an incorrect count can be corrected clear up until a pitch is thrown to another batter. One of the case plays on incorrect count is a batter who should have walked on ball 4 but the umpire missed a pitch somewhere. The batter hits a home run but the before a pitch to another batter the defense appeals the batter should have walked before the home run was hit. The count should be corrected, the home run taken off the board and runners put back on base and only advance if forced by the batter walking.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    slagothar (08-12-2017)

  6. #5
    Certified softball maniac Sparky Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,359
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 1,163 Times in 641 Posts

    Default

    if the BU steps in with a different count, how is that not an overrule?
    BU to PU: I have the count as 3-2 after that last pitch.

    PU You sure?

    BU Absolutely.

    PU OK. I musta clicked the ball dial twice on a pitch. Thanks.

    PU to the field. "That was ball 3. The count is 3-2 on the batter.

    Umpires can and do lose the count. Especially if there is a lot of action on the field. It's not a common thing to happen. I'll see it a couple of times a season. No big deal. Correct the count and play ball.
    WOC: "Only the names change."

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Sparky Guy For This Useful Post:

    slagothar (08-12-2017)

  8. #6
    MTR
    MTR is online now
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,012
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 587 Times in 411 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky Guy View Post
    BU to PU: I have the count as 3-2 after that last pitch.

    PU You sure?

    BU Absolutely.

    PU OK. I musta clicked the ball dial twice on a pitch. Thanks.

    PU to the field. "That was ball 3. The count is 3-2 on the batter.

    Umpires can and do lose the count. Especially if there is a lot of action on the field. It's not a common thing to happen. I'll see it a couple of times a season. No big deal. Correct the count and play ball.
    True which is why I always support the use of an indicator. In this case, I'm sort of curious how the scoreboard got the extra ball also

  9. #7
    Softball Junkie Phathead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 201 Times in 120 Posts

    Default

    Don't think I've ever seen this mishandled. Worst case was count questioned ump asked ump , went to home team bench who wasn't keeping book so back to umps count defined play ball.

  10. #8
    I can talk softball all day CoachJD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    272
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 148 Times in 88 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTR View Post
    True which is why I always support the use of an indicator. In this case, I'm sort of curious how the scoreboard got the extra ball also
    I wasn't there, but my best guess is at some point the PU called out the wrong count, scoreboard operator just went with that even if he/she had something different.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --