Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Not on Lineup Card

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day TMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 64 Times in 40 Posts

    Default Not on Lineup Card

    Situation: Championship Game, NFHS rules with DP/Flex. Tournament Rules state free substitution in pool play games only. Lineup card turned in to umpire and our team with a straight 9, no subs, and no DP/Flex. Runner on 2B, #13 hits a double to score the runner. #13 is not listed on the lineup card. We bring to the umpires attention. He calls the UIC and Tournament Director over. After 30min, decision is made that nothing will be done. Run scores, #13 stays on 2B, and stays in the game. I'm at a loss!!!!

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,380 Times in 813 Posts

    Default

    Under NFHS rules, a player may be added to the lineup after it has been submitted. First occurrence is a warning to the coach, 2nd is a restriction to the bench. There is no penalty for either the player not being on the lineup card or the unreported substitution. All action stands, the player is added to the lineup card and the player is now officially in the game. Unfortunately that is how the NFHS rules are written.

    USA rules also allow players to be added to the lineup, but if the player is discovered and appealed prior to a pitch being thrown to the next batter, the player would be called out, runners would return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch and the player is now officially entered into the game.

  3. #3
    I can talk softball all day TMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 64 Times in 40 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    Under NFHS rules, a player may be added to the lineup after it has been submitted. First occurrence is a warning to the coach, 2nd is a restriction to the bench. There is no penalty for either the player not being on the lineup card or the unreported substitution. All action stands, the player is added to the lineup card and the player is now officially in the game. Unfortunately that is how the NFHS rules are written.

    USA rules also allow players to be added to the lineup, but if the player is discovered and appealed prior to a pitch being thrown to the next batter, the player would be called out, runners would return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch and the player is now officially entered into the game.
    So under NFHS rules, there is no penalty for this? At the very least, the batter should be out and runner returned to 2B, but if I am reading you right, that is not the case in NFHS?

  4. #4
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,380 Times in 813 Posts

    Default

    Thats what I said, no penalty under NFHS other than a warning to the coach.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    TMoney (07-17-2017)

  6. #5
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    697
    Thanked 981 Times in 505 Posts

    Default

    It's not batting out of order because we are assuming that they added #13 to the bottom of the lineup?

  7. #6
    I can talk softball all day TMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 64 Times in 40 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    Thats what I said, no penalty under NFHS other than a warning to the coach.
    That really seems crazy to me that you can bat out of order, bat a continuous 10 with no DP/Flex, and the only penalty is a warning to the coach.

  8. #7
    I can talk softball all day TMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 64 Times in 40 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GunnerShotgun View Post
    It's not batting out of order because we are assuming that they added #13 to the bottom of the lineup?
    She was hitting in the 5 hole.

  9. #8
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,380 Times in 813 Posts

    Default

    I dont write the rules, I just have to enforce the rule set the game is being played under.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    TMoney (07-17-2017)

  11. #9
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    697
    Thanked 981 Times in 505 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TMoney View Post
    She was hitting in the 5 hole.
    That's what I was missing.

    If she hit for the #5 hitter as Comp pointed out it's just an unreported sub. If the coach just threw #13 in the middle of the lineup that would be batting out of order.

  12. #10
    I can talk softball all day TMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 64 Times in 40 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GunnerShotgun View Post
    That's what I was missing.

    If she hit for the #5 hitter as Comp pointed out it's just an unreported sub. If the coach just threw #13 in the middle of the lineup that would be batting out of order.
    She didn't hit for anyone. She was in the lineup as the 5 hitter, just not on the card. They had 10 players and batted all 10. We caught it her 1st time at bat, but thought they had just put the wrong # on the card. The result of that AB was insignificant, so we let it go. Next time through, we realized what happened. He forgot to put this player in his lineup. Ironically, it was his own daughter.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --