Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DP in for FLEX scenario

  1. #1
    Certified softball maniac corlay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    580
    Thanked 807 Times in 419 Posts

    Default DP in for FLEX scenario

    scenario: 10 batting in lineup with a DP and EH. FLEX is pitcher and not batting.

    in 4th inning DP play defense as pitcher. FLEX goes to bench.

    am I correct that FLEX has now left the game, and there is no more FLEX? and DP is now a position player, so DP is gone, too?

    I clarified this with the ASA 2-man crew, and they were adamant that FLEX may go to bench and re-enter game in field at any time, but may not bat.

    who is correct?

    thank you

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day CPEM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    696
    Thanked 255 Times in 105 Posts

    Default

    FLEX is allowed to re-enter, and both DP and FLEX can be on defense at the same time. There's some mental gymnastics to perform when you do this, but essentially, the DP can play defense for anyone on the field, so when the FLEX re-enters, and if you want to keep DP in on defense, then the DP is playing defense for whoever is coming off the field. Whoever that is will continue to bat in her spot in the lineup.

    What are you driving at?

    I'm also curious to know what ruleset you were playing under. As far as I know, there's no EH in ASA/USA, but you reference asking an ASA/USA umpire crew about this.

  3. #3
    Certified softball maniac corlay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    580
    Thanked 807 Times in 419 Posts

    Default

    I know DP can play defense but I thought FLEX MUST play defense also.
    So if DP plays defense FOR FLEX, then FLEX has left the game.
    I supposed FLEX can later re-enter and this will re-establish the DP/FLEX?

    Large, Unsanctioned tournament in Columbus, OH.
    Umps had ASA patches, but it is not an ASA sanctioned tournament.

  4. #4
    Checking out the clubhouse brainchaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    I believe that the DP can come in for any defender but the FLEX. If she comes in for another defensive player that person sits on the bench and still bats in her normal position and is not considered to have left the game. If she replaces the FLEX then the FLEX has left the game but can still come in one more time under the regular substitution rules. We've only played a few games using this, but that's how I remember the rules.

  5. #5
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    If the do plays defense for the flex, then the flex has left the game. That flex may reenter any time as long as that particular player still has their re-entry. Or, any other eligible player may be subbed into the flex position. Once the do flex is made known prior to the start of the game it can be used the entire game and the do or flex can be dropped any number of times as long as the team has eligible substitute to fill the positions.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    corlay (07-15-2017)

  7. #6
    Softball Junkie Ajaywill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    733
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 302 Times in 203 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by corlay View Post
    scenario: 10 batting in lineup with a DP and EH. FLEX is pitcher and not batting.

    in 4th inning DP play defense as pitcher. FLEX goes to bench.

    am I correct that FLEX has now left the game, and there is no more FLEX? and DP is now a position player, so DP is gone, too?

    I clarified this with the ASA 2-man crew, and they were adamant that FLEX may go to bench and re-enter game in field at any time, but may not bat.

    who is correct?

    thank you
    If the FLEX is not playing defense, the lineup has dropped from 10 to 9 players (I'm disregarding the tournament rule of allowing the EH for this example). The player listed on the lineup as the FLEX has left the game and has one re-entry left, just like any other player on the lineup. The DP is still in the lineup and is batting and playing defense. If the player in the FLEX position re-enters the game, the lineup has gone from 9 back to 10 players. If the FLEX player leaves the game again, that particular player has used her re-entry and is no longer eligible to play in that game. Any other available substitute may be placed into the FLEX position and put in the game.

    A point of clarification...the FLEX player can only play offense (bat or run) for the DP. When this happens, the DP has left the game, but still has a re-entry available as explained above.

  8. #7
    Certified softball maniac corlay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    580
    Thanked 807 Times in 419 Posts

    Default

    last question:

    If the above scenario occurs,
    FLEX leaves game,
    then DP is still in lineup as a position player.

    If FLEX re-enters, and DP/FLEX is now re-established,
    Does that also constitute a re-entry for the DP player?
    Because that player has gone from a position back to DP?

    I don't think it does, but just wanted to ask, to be sure.

  9. #8
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by corlay View Post
    last question:

    If the above scenario occurs,
    FLEX leaves game,
    then DP is still in lineup as a position player.

    If FLEX re-enters, and DP/FLEX is now re-established,
    Does that also constitute a re-entry for the DP player?
    Because that player has gone from a position back to DP?

    I don't think it does, but just wanted to ask, to be sure.
    When either the dp or flex plays for the other, only the player that has actually left the game must use a reentry to come back into the game. Say the DP plays defense for the flex, the flex is the only player that has left the lineup. If the flex comes back into the game they must use a reentry, but the dp simply moves back to being the dp and has never left the game. Same thing if flex bats or runs for dp, only the dp has left the game and must use a reentry to come back. When they do come back the flex simply goes back to being the flex.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    corlay (07-18-2017)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --