Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Running in to the catcher

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse brainchaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Running in to the catcher

    Something happened in our game tonight that confused everyone and I'm wondering what the correct call is.

    There's a runner on third when a dropped third strike happens, catcher throws the ball to first to try to get the out and the runner at third breaks for home, catcher is standing behind the plate but directly in line with the runner coming from third, the entire plate is open to the runner, the catcher does not even have a foot on the plate, throw comes in late to the catcher, the runner from third is clearly safe, runner from third over runs the plate and runs in to the catcher knocking her down, it wasn't a hard knock down, more like she couldn't slow herself down fast enough, the umpire ruled something that wasn't clear to me and assessed the team an out but let the run stand. I'm wondering how if a rule was broken the run could stand and what rule was broken in the first place..

  2. #2
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,046
    Thanks
    2,097
    Thanked 1,858 Times in 1,211 Posts

    Default

    Doesn't sound right to me.

    Run counts/ runner safe.

    The umpire can still toss the runner from the game if they want but no out and run counts.

  3. #3
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    Is there any chance that when he was saying whatever was unclear that the out he referred to was the one at first?

    Like mumble mumble "out there run is good." Just a guess, because calling the runner at home both safe and out is preposterous.

  4. #4
    Checking out the clubhouse brainchaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Daddy Michigan View Post
    Is there any chance that when he was saying whatever was unclear that the out he referred to was the one at first?

    Like mumble mumble "out there run is good." Just a guess, because calling the runner at home both safe and out is preposterous.
    No, the runner at first was definitely safe. Now she did end up at second base when the play was over and the catcher didn't get a chance to try to throw her out due to being knocked over, so maybe that was the cause of the out? The runner who ended up at first probably doesn't advance to second if the catcher isn't knocked over.

  5. #5
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,046
    Thanks
    2,097
    Thanked 1,858 Times in 1,211 Posts

    Default

    No, runner on 1st would not be out for advancing to 2nd. Worse case, for offense, is she would be sent back to 1st.

  6. #6
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,774
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,263 Times in 766 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quincy View Post
    No, runner on 1st would not be out for advancing to 2nd. Worse case, for offense, is she would be sent back to 1st.
    Not necessarily true. If the umpire ruled interference by a runner who had already scored then the runner closest to home is out. Since there was only 1 other runner they would be out. The umpire did appear to have ruled interference by calling an out but you cannot have a phantom out. The runner had already scored, they cannot also be out. If the umpire is scoring the run, that player cannot also be out, the out has to transfer to another player.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    Big Daddy Michigan (04-20-2017)

  8. #7
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    Certified softball maniac MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,947
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 565 Times in 396 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    Not necessarily true. If the umpire ruled interference by a runner who had already scored then the runner closest to home is out. Since there was only 1 other runner they would be out. The umpire did appear to have ruled interference by calling an out but you cannot have a phantom out. The runner had already scored, they cannot also be out. If the umpire is scoring the run, that player cannot also be out, the out has to transfer to another player.
    Not too sure I would rule INT in this case without seeing the play and take into consideration what that player was doing. The catcher was not making a tag and probably shouldn't have been where she was. You cannot demand the runner slide and if she slows down prior to the plate, it is OBS and finally, everyone's favorite non-option, she just cannot go "poof" and disappear.

  9. #8
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,774
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,263 Times in 766 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTR View Post
    Not too sure I would rule INT in this case without seeing the play and take into consideration what that player was doing. The catcher was not making a tag and probably shouldn't have been where she was. You cannot demand the runner slide and if she slows down prior to the plate, it is OBS and finally, everyone's favorite non-option, she just cannot go "poof" and disappear.
    Wasnt inferring I would rule interference, in fact I am with you Im not sure it was anything and the catcher probably shouldnt have been where she was. I was responding to the ruling the umpire made and the comment about the runner simply being returned to 1st.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --