Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Scoring an obstruction

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts

    Default Scoring an obstruction

    The batter hit a ball that was likely a double, but she was obstructed at first. She stayed at first after the collision, and the umpire awarded her second base.

    Should this be scored as a double, because it would have been if there was no obstruction, or is it a single?

    I'm guessing single, but I'm not positive.

    Is there some other stat that should be noted due to the obstruction?

  2. #2
    Softball Junkie Ajaywill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    722
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 294 Times in 197 Posts

    Default

    Let me first say that I'm an umpire, not a scorekeeper and generally do not weigh in on scorekeeping questions.

    In this case, though the umpire awarded the batter second base because he believed she would have made second without the obstruction. I'd say to score it as a double.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Ajaywill For This Useful Post:

    CoogansBluff (04-18-2017)

  4. #3
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    OK, since you are the only voter, and it was my daughter batting I will change it to a double.

  5. #4
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball CoogansBluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    5,078
    Thanks
    1,668
    Thanked 2,867 Times in 1,559 Posts

    Default

    I assumed this was a clear-cut double, but I asked a scorekeeper who has scored at a high level, and he indicated that the scorer can judge whether or not the batter would've reached second safely. If so, double. If not, an error on the first baseman for the obstruction.

    Here is his answer, although keep in mind he thought I was talking about baseball. Don't think it would be different for softball, but it would depend on the rule book.

    Like so many things, the answer is, it depends. And the answer for high school could be different than for "regular baseball". In high school, ALL obstruction calls have an award of at least one base. In real baseball, bases are awarded automatically for type A obstruction, but only if the outcome was affected for type b obstruction. (Type A is obstruction on a runner while being played on, or on a batter-runner before reaching 1B. Type B is obstruction of runner not being played on). High school doesn't have type A and type B, there is just obstruction.

    Since high school automatically awards a base, the batter may be awarded 2B, even if the um[ire wasn't sure he would have made 2B anyway. So in high school, the scorer should judge: absent the obstruction, would the batter have reached 2B? If so, score the double and ignore the obstruction. But if not sure, score a single and a error on the first baseman for permitting the advance. In case of doubt, I would lean toward the double.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to CoogansBluff For This Useful Post:

    Big Daddy Michigan (04-21-2017)

  7. #5
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    Thanks. It was a ball still in left field with a very fast aggressive runner who was rounding to get to 2nd but collided with the first base person. So We'll call it a double.

    I appreciate the assistance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --