Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Umpire would NOT call strikes

  1. #1
    Softball Junkie FastPitchCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    583
    Thanks
    839
    Thanked 241 Times in 150 Posts

    Default Umpire would NOT call strikes

    DD"s team played their final showcase this past weekend.
    while it was good DD's team went 5-1, one umpire just would not call strikes!

    when DD"s catcher asked, why, he said:

    "You're not catching the ball out in front so i'm not going to call it"

    huh? what the heck does that mean?
    anyone?

  2. #2
    I'm a fan Southernmost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 58 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    I'm not sure either but it seems that there are some good and some bad. The bad ones are really frustrating. This weekend, ump not calling outside in the river nor over the corner. Catcher told coach it's on the outside corner and in the river but he's not calling it. Pitching coaches teach girls to live on the corners. If they can't then they get frustrated and make mistakes, like throwing fat and get one hit back in the facemask. Just venting.....

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    I can talk softball all day Bubrox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Heatbox
    Posts
    189
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 127 Times in 61 Posts

    Default

    DD2 had an ump Sat. nite that would not or didn't know how to call a change up for a strike. HC almost got tossed for getting after him.

  4. #4
    Softball Junkie FastPitchCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    583
    Thanks
    839
    Thanked 241 Times in 150 Posts

    Default

    DD ended up throwing something closer to center (FAT) that got hit. but i still don't understand what the heck the UMP meant by "Not catching it in front"?

  5. #5
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,819
    Thanks
    4,899
    Thanked 5,882 Times in 3,039 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FastPitchCat View Post
    DD ended up throwing something closer to center (FAT) that got hit. but i still don't understand what the heck the UMP meant by "Not catching it in front"?
    "In front" means the catcher's arm extended is forward (towards the pitcher) when the pitch is received, instead of letting the ball travel farther and catching it closer to the body. This comment by the ump tells me that he's paying more attention to where the ball is caught than where it passes through the strike zone.
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  6. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Eric F For This Useful Post:

    Doug Romrell (11-14-2017), FastPitchCat (11-13-2017), JAD (11-15-2017), quincy (11-13-2017)

  7. #6
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,754
    Thanks
    2,558
    Thanked 2,224 Times in 1,415 Posts

    Default

    We had an umpire that refused to call a strike when DD pitched, no one including TD had any clue why. We had to pull her which was no big deal.

    Showcase tourney it would have became an Issue.

  8. #7
    Softball Junkie FastPitchCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    583
    Thanks
    839
    Thanked 241 Times in 150 Posts

    Default

    yep. it was a showcase tourny. but, considering that we got assigned to a less-than-desirable venue in Myrtle beach, it didn't matter much.

    honestly, i don't know how assigning of venues happens. we pay the same amount, but the 'more visible, popular or whatever adjective' teams get assigned to the better venues like Cal Ripken.

  9. #8
    Softball Junkie FastPitchCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    583
    Thanks
    839
    Thanked 241 Times in 150 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eric F View Post
    "In front" means the catcher's arm extended is forward (towards the pitcher) when the pitch is received, instead of letting the ball travel farther and catching it closer to the body. This comment by the ump tells me that he's paying more attention to where the ball is caught than where it passes through the strike zone.
    which i think, is wrong, right?

  10. #9
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,754
    Thanks
    2,558
    Thanked 2,224 Times in 1,415 Posts

    Default

    Of course it is wrong, if your pitcher can move the ball the batter should not have a chance once they figure it out. ��

  11. #10
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,819
    Thanks
    4,899
    Thanked 5,882 Times in 3,039 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FastPitchCat View Post
    which i think, is wrong, right?
    Correct pitch calling by the umpire should be uninfluenced by where/how/if the ball is caught. That said, umpires are human (most of the time, anyway), and perceptions can sometimes be influenced, which is why good catchers put a ton of time into improving their receiving skills.
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Eric F For This Useful Post:

    FastPitchCat (11-13-2017), Rocketech1 (11-15-2017)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --