Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: New rule: Foot on Batter Box line.

  1. #1
    Softball DAD martianr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Whiting, Iowa
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 67 Times in 37 Posts

    Default New rule: Foot on Batter Box line.

    I was watching a few college game this weekend. And a couple of announcers and commentators made reference of the new BATTER BOX RULE. That the batter had to have (I think both) both feet in the batter box when making contact. At no time can the foot or feet touch any part of the Batter Box line. Or the batter was out. Is that correct?

    Also, does the rule apply that when a batter makes contact and one foot is off the ground(and out of the batter box) and the other foot is in the batter box. Is the batter out.

    I guess I am looking for clarification of the new batter in the box rule.

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day KCPhoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 62 Times in 36 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by martianr View Post
    I was watching a few college game this weekend. And a couple of announcers and commentators made reference of the new BATTER BOX RULE. That the batter had to have (I think both) both feet in the batter box when making contact. At no time can the foot or feet touch any part of the Batter Box line. Or the batter was out. Is that correct?

    Also, does the rule apply that when a batter makes contact and one foot is off the ground(and out of the batter box) and the other foot is in the batter box. Is the batter out.

    I guess I am looking for clarification of the new batter in the box rule.
    The chalk line is always part of the box. The rule is that neither foot may touch the ground outside the box. In the air is fine. Foot must touch ground outside the box to violate this rule.

  3. #3
    Finding my way 4 girl's dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Back on the dirt
    Posts
    1,556
    Thanks
    1,840
    Thanked 671 Times in 441 Posts

    Default

    I think I understood it to be you had to be inside the lines now as part of the new rule. I saw it here but not sure what post it was in. And yes, its just one foot inside the lines of the box.
    Do not argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  4. #4
    I can talk softball all day KCPhoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 62 Times in 36 Posts

    Default

    Here is the wording for the new rule:
    At the moment of bat-ball contact, the batter may not contact the pitch when any part of her foot is touching home plate, even though she may be touching the lines of the batter’s box. In addition, the batter may not contact the pitch when her entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter’s box.

    Rationale:
    It is increasingly difficult for plate umpires to assure the delivery of the pitch is legal, track the pitch, be aware of the position of the batter in the batter’s box on a hit by pitch and see if the batter has stepped completely outside the box at the point of contact. Also, ensures slappers do not gain an unfair advantage that other batters do not have by being allowed to contact the ball while outside of the batter’s box.


    The italicized lines are stricken out text from the original ruling that indicate that any part of the foot touching the line is OK. The foot must be in the batter's box which means that no part of the foot may be across the chalk and into the dirt outside the line. The line is in the batter's box just as the baseline chalk is fair territory.

    Here is a link to rule changes: https://sup.arbitersports.com/Groups...s_20170817.pdf
    Last edited by KCPhoto; 02-11-2018 at 08:34 PM.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to KCPhoto For This Useful Post:

    4 girl's dad (02-11-2018)

  6. #5
    Finding my way 4 girl's dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Back on the dirt
    Posts
    1,556
    Thanks
    1,840
    Thanked 671 Times in 441 Posts

    Default

    Thank you. Maybe I misunderstood what I saw.
    Last edited by 4 girl's dad; 02-11-2018 at 09:12 PM.
    Do not argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  7. #6
    Certified softball maniac smddad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    3841'44"N 1219'47.5"W
    Posts
    1,331
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 598 Times in 363 Posts

    Default

    All they had to do was enforce the old rule as written. I was constantly seeing batters make contact with one foot completely out of the box several times during the WCWS and it wasn't called.
    I was wondering why the softball was getting bigger; then it hit me.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to smddad For This Useful Post:

    Westwind (02-12-2018)

  9. #7
    Softball DAD martianr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Whiting, Iowa
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 67 Times in 37 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 4 girl's dad View Post
    I think I understood it to be you had to be inside the lines now as part of the new rule. I saw it here but not sure what post it was in. And yes, its just one foot inside the lines of the box.
    That is the same description I heard also. "No part of the foot could touch the line". If they stay in the batter box, when they make ball contact, it would be so much easier to notice when they step out or on the line.

  10. #8
    I can talk softball all day IRONMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Posts
    204
    Thanks
    373
    Thanked 203 Times in 94 Posts

    Default

    "wait, there's a line there?" ...

    -said every batters box after the 1st inning.

  11. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to IRONMAN For This Useful Post:

    coach james (02-12-2018), Eric F (02-12-2018), Gags (02-11-2018), YOCOACH (02-12-2018)

  12. #9
    I can talk softball all day Gambler Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    356
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 145 Times in 100 Posts

    Default

    Is this just a NCAA rule or does this apply to travel ball also?

  13. #10
    Certified softball maniac Westwind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,658
    Thanks
    2,128
    Thanked 868 Times in 500 Posts

    Default

    I saw this called half a dozen times over the weekend.... Not slappers, all bunts. Couple were righties. It really had me wondering what the purpose of it was. What "problem" is being solved, what advantage there is to a bunter.

    The lines were completely gone in one game and that dude just kept calling it. It was awful.

    In another game I thought a rather well known female coach was going to chew the face off of some twerp kid of an umpire who honestly had no business calling a game like that.

    This is a really dumb rule. It screws up games. It has all the fans trying to watch wondering what the call is. Get rid of this thing NOW. Our sport is getting more coverage than ever but these are little wtf? type moments that turn spectators off and there is NO reason for it.
    Incremental improvement

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --