Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Are Axe Bats just hype?

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse TXJames44's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Allen TX
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default Are Axe Bats just hype?

    I am actively looking to get my DD a new bat. She will be on a 1st year 12u TB team this year. She currently plays a Xeno 30/19, and likes it, but we are considering a 2nd bat.

    I am intrigued by Axe bats, and she likes the feel, but they do not get talked about on this forum very often, and not recently. Is it just hype? Is it something that works? Some big name players are starting to use the product and yes I know money talks, but talented players that make a ton of money typically won't play bad equipment just for a little more coin (or maybe I'm wrong).

    Does anyone have experience with their DD playing them recently? I know some people will have opinions (I want to hear them too), but I really want some real feedback.

    Or should we just get a U-trip Ghost from CoreSoftball20?

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 109 Times in 73 Posts

    Default

    I have never bought one but a girl on our team (her dad buys every gimmick that comes out) got one last year. It is like hitting a log. She used it in one game with not so great results. I use it to hit popups and infield just so it gets some use and hopefully will break in. I watch quite a bit of college softball and I am not sure I have seen one girl use it. I am not an expert on composite technology but back when I played slow pitch you wanted to break the bat in all the way around the barrel to get a bat broken in. That is very difficult with an axe bat because of the handle shape. I have seen these used more in baseball and have seen major league players use wooden ones. Personally I wouldn't buy one, get a Ghost, LXT, Quatro, etc. JMO

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to BuckeyeBW For This Useful Post:

    TXJames44 (06-12-2018)

  4. #3
    Demarini & LS SUCK! CoreSoftball20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Kunkletown, PA
    Posts
    2,633
    Thanks
    535
    Thanked 1,258 Times in 709 Posts

    Default

    Who makes a ton of money that swings Axe bats? If you are talking fp players...none make a ton . I did see one video. But gotta watch
    out for videos. I saw a fp video of a bigger girl hitting it...never saw where the ball landed or anything. Just heard ohhh's and ahhh's...haha. And I could tell
    a few were mishits but they still made noises like she hit it 300ft. The bat hasn't caught on at all for slowpitch.

    My experience, they are ok bats. I had one a few years back that the Baden rep gave us. It was ok at best was all I could say. Didnt have the performance of the better bats.
    As a cheap backup or bp bat, Maybe I would own one. But I doubt I would have one as a gamer or bat I used often in games unless I got something out of it. That was a couple years ago though.
    That was my opinion on the bat I had...as I said, it was a couple years ago but wasn't great.

    But, hey, if your kid likes it and hit well with it, its personal preference
    Last edited by CoreSoftball20; 06-12-2018 at 10:02 AM.
    "Success isn't permanent, and failure isn't fatal. Its the courage to continue that counts"
    If you need to reach me fast...text 610-417-0448

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to CoreSoftball20 For This Useful Post:

    PNWdad (06-12-2018)

  6. #4
    Checking out the clubhouse TXJames44's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Allen TX
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CoreSoftball20 View Post
    Who makes a ton of money that swings Axe bats? If you are talking fp players...none make a ton . I did see one video. But gotta watch
    out for videos. I saw a fp video of a bigger girl hitting it...never saw where the ball landed or anything. Just heard ohhh's and ahhh's...haha. And I could tell
    a few were mishits but they still made noises like she hit it 300ft. The bat hasn't caught on at all for slowpitch.

    My experience, they are ok bats. I had one a few years back that the Baden rep gave us. It was ok at best was all I could say. Didnt have the performance of the better bats.
    As a cheap backup or bp bat, Maybe I would own one. But I doubt I would have one as a gamer or bat I used often in games. That was a couple years ago though.
    That was my opinion on the bat I had...as I said, it was a couple years ago but wasn't great.

    But, hey, if your kid likes it and hit well with it, its personal preference
    The reference to "making a bunch of money" was more directed at some of the MLB players that use it. I appreciate your feedback. We are certainly not sold on the idea, and one would think it would have caught on by now in FP if it was legit. We are still leaning towards getting a ghost from you.

  7. #5
    Demarini & LS SUCK! CoreSoftball20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Kunkletown, PA
    Posts
    2,633
    Thanks
    535
    Thanked 1,258 Times in 709 Posts

    Default

    Put it this way, I don't have them in the store after getting that demo
    "Success isn't permanent, and failure isn't fatal. Its the courage to continue that counts"
    If you need to reach me fast...text 610-417-0448

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to CoreSoftball20 For This Useful Post:

    TXJames44 (06-12-2018)

  9. #6
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 109 Times in 73 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CoreSoftball20 View Post
    Put it this way, I don't have them in the store after getting that demo
    Core, didnt Mattingly put out a slow pitch bat that had a weird handle that made you grip it a certain way? i know they had them in slow pitch not sure about fp

  10. #7
    Demarini & LS SUCK! CoreSoftball20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Kunkletown, PA
    Posts
    2,633
    Thanks
    535
    Thanked 1,258 Times in 709 Posts

    Default

    Yupper...the Beast...haha. Good memory sir. And it went over just as well

    Mattingly had one for sp and baseball. I guess you could say he was first with this design...his was called the "V-grip"
    "Success isn't permanent, and failure isn't fatal. Its the courage to continue that counts"
    If you need to reach me fast...text 610-417-0448

  11. #8
    Certified softball maniac canyonjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,861
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 986 Times in 574 Posts

    Default

    We had a kid get one a couple of years ago. She went from a 250 hitter to one who gets a hit 1 out of 4 times.

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to canyonjoe For This Useful Post:

    Rooster's Dad (06-12-2018), Westwind (06-13-2018)

  13. #9
    Demarini & LS SUCK! CoreSoftball20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Kunkletown, PA
    Posts
    2,633
    Thanks
    535
    Thanked 1,258 Times in 709 Posts

    Default

    We aren't math guru's here Joe
    "Success isn't permanent, and failure isn't fatal. Its the courage to continue that counts"
    If you need to reach me fast...text 610-417-0448

  14. #10
    Checking out the clubhouse Laphoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Franklinton Louisiana
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    I’m a gimmick dad will try anything to get better results I bought 2018 axebat it was pretty tight out of the wrapper. After about 4 months of 1 a week batting practice and normal practice it started to break in. My dd loves the feel of the Handel and she hits same distance with it as her demarini or the ghost. It’s just a bat she feels confident with. Her batting average did not go up or down because of a different bat in her hands. There are no magic bats. It’s as much a mental trigger as technology break through. Buy her what she thinks she will hit best with. Then feed her confidence.

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Laphoneman For This Useful Post:

    Fort83 (06-14-2018), rfort83 (06-14-2018)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --