Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Paint Crack or Composite Crack

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse stangray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Paint Crack or Composite Crack

    Here is a picture of a CF-9 bat I purchased last year. The man I purchased it from said he thought this was a paint crack only.
    I went ahead and bought it and even with it my hand, I still can't tell.

    My dd used it in a few tournaments but felt it was too small for her (29/18) -11.
    She used it in batting practice and in a few games and the crack never changed and the bat has very good pop. Doesn't sound any different from any other CF-9 either.

    It is just sitting in the garage and I wan't to sell it, but I don't want to mislead anyone thinking this is a paint crack if it is not.

    There are lots of knowledgeable people here and I welcome their opinions.
    Is this a surface paint crack or a composite crack?
    Untitled.jpg

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day burlap1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 49 Times in 24 Posts

    Default

    To me it looks like composite crack. Never seen a paint crack be that long and appears to be deep. But hard to tell from the picture rather than it being in my hand

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to burlap1980 For This Useful Post:

    sbmom19 (04-18-2018)

  4. #3
    I can talk softball all day Dandan111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 35 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    It looks bad in the picture. Like it’s separating on the right.

  5. #4
    Demarini & LS SUCK! CoreSoftball20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Kunkletown, PA
    Posts
    2,758
    Thanks
    596
    Thanked 1,321 Times in 747 Posts

    Default

    My issue with this is the paint is raising, which can signal trouble underneath as composite may be pushing up. Also, with this, umps may have issues with this.
    I bet you can even get your fingernail under it...which is bad.

    I wouldn't have bought the bat unless it was cheap

    I don't think it is long for this world if used regularly
    Last edited by CoreSoftball20; 04-17-2018 at 01:54 PM.
    "Success isn't permanent, and failure isn't fatal. Its the courage to continue that counts"
    If you need to reach me fast...text 610-417-0448

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to CoreSoftball20 For This Useful Post:

    sbmom19 (04-18-2018)

  7. #5
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 111 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    That looks like a composite crack to me. Sorry

  8. #6
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,565 Times in 926 Posts

    Default

    Normally cracks in the composite are spiral following the seams in the weave, but that looks pretty suspect. Especially the right hand side where the layers appear to be pulling up.

  9. #7
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    8,557
    Thanks
    5,423
    Thanked 6,573 Times in 3,379 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    Normally cracks in the composite are spiral following the seams in the weave, but that looks pretty suspect. Especially the right hand side where the layers appear to be pulling up.
    This ^^^. The composite layers are typically laid in a diagonal/spiral pattern, and structural cracks will follow that pattern. This is definitely suspect, however, just based on the length and apparent depth.
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  10. #8
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 111 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    It looks just like the crack my daughter put in a CF8 that got returned.

  11. #9
    Checking out the clubhouse stangray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for everyone's opinions. My gut kept saying composite crack as well. Looks like another bat for cold weather batting practice. Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --