Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Paint Crack or Composite Crack

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse stangray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Paint Crack or Composite Crack

    Here is a picture of a CF-9 bat I purchased last year. The man I purchased it from said he thought this was a paint crack only.
    I went ahead and bought it and even with it my hand, I still can't tell.

    My dd used it in a few tournaments but felt it was too small for her (29/18) -11.
    She used it in batting practice and in a few games and the crack never changed and the bat has very good pop. Doesn't sound any different from any other CF-9 either.

    It is just sitting in the garage and I wan't to sell it, but I don't want to mislead anyone thinking this is a paint crack if it is not.

    There are lots of knowledgeable people here and I welcome their opinions.
    Is this a surface paint crack or a composite crack?
    Untitled.jpg

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day burlap1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 46 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    To me it looks like composite crack. Never seen a paint crack be that long and appears to be deep. But hard to tell from the picture rather than it being in my hand

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to burlap1980 For This Useful Post:

    sbmom19 (04-18-2018)

  4. #3
    I'm a fan Dandan111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    105
    Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts

    Default

    It looks bad in the picture. Like it’s separating on the right.

  5. #4
    Demarini & LS SUCK! CoreSoftball20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Kunkletown, PA
    Posts
    2,685
    Thanks
    561
    Thanked 1,284 Times in 723 Posts

    Default

    My issue with this is the paint is raising, which can signal trouble underneath as composite may be pushing up. Also, with this, umps may have issues with this.
    I bet you can even get your fingernail under it...which is bad.

    I wouldn't have bought the bat unless it was cheap

    I don't think it is long for this world if used regularly
    Last edited by CoreSoftball20; 04-17-2018 at 01:54 PM.
    "Success isn't permanent, and failure isn't fatal. Its the courage to continue that counts"
    If you need to reach me fast...text 610-417-0448

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to CoreSoftball20 For This Useful Post:

    sbmom19 (04-18-2018)

  7. #5
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 111 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    That looks like a composite crack to me. Sorry

  8. #6
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 911 Posts

    Default

    Normally cracks in the composite are spiral following the seams in the weave, but that looks pretty suspect. Especially the right hand side where the layers appear to be pulling up.

  9. #7
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    8,405
    Thanks
    5,297
    Thanked 6,391 Times in 3,295 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    Normally cracks in the composite are spiral following the seams in the weave, but that looks pretty suspect. Especially the right hand side where the layers appear to be pulling up.
    This ^^^. The composite layers are typically laid in a diagonal/spiral pattern, and structural cracks will follow that pattern. This is definitely suspect, however, just based on the length and apparent depth.
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  10. #8
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 111 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    It looks just like the crack my daughter put in a CF8 that got returned.

  11. #9
    Checking out the clubhouse stangray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for everyone's opinions. My gut kept saying composite crack as well. Looks like another bat for cold weather batting practice. Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --