Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Go pro questions ??

  1. #1
    I'm a fan Kcsftbl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts

    Default Go pro questions ??

    Thinking about buying a go pro to record games and dd pitching .
    What would be everyone's choice of models ? What are the pros and cons ?
    I'm new to this so what things should I think about that I don't even know yet ?

    Thanks Terry Howard

  2. #2
    JAD
    JAD is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball JAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    8,226
    Thanks
    4,790
    Thanked 7,147 Times in 3,168 Posts

    Default

    Not a GoPro expert, but I am a big fan of saving money, so I would look for deal on Ebay on a used one. If you are trying to broadcast games you may want to look for specific models, but just to record you should be fine with just about any of them. You can also buy extra batteries on Ebay.
    "I do not fear the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times" ~Bruce Lee

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JAD For This Useful Post:

    Kcsftbl (03-13-2018)

  4. #3
    Finding my way 4 girl's dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Back on the dirt
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    1,946
    Thanked 700 Times in 465 Posts

    Default

    I’m a big fan of buying the right equipment the first time. If you go to Lynkspyder.com you can find a very good list of suggested items.

    I have a hero 5 black, Lynkspyder, external battery pack, and a pouch to put the battery and extra SD cards in. Works great most every where we play. Occasionally the wifi for the remote is weak if the dug out is too far away from the back stop. In that case I just let it record.

    I do know of a team that uses the clamp on attachment and some wires to hold his setup to the fence and he has been using it for a couple years so there are short cuts. Also there are cheaper cameras but the GoPro has been good to me. (Had one get smashed by a wild pitch. It was mounted on a net type of back stop and it worked the rest of the tourney but after that weekend, it would not come back on. Now I buy the extended warrenty for such events.)

    https://youtu.be/VffjqDs-L_Y


    https://www.lynkspyder.com/support/equipment

    (You will have to take the S off off https to get the link to work.)
    Last edited by 4 girl's dad; 03-13-2018 at 05:20 PM.
    Do not argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to 4 girl's dad For This Useful Post:

    Kcsftbl (03-13-2018)

  6. #4
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 111 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    Tons of very good, much cheaper alternatives on Amazon as well. Just search Action Cameras and it will pull them up. I did research before I bought mine, which is around $50, and I am supposed to get it today. I will use it for a week and then get back to you on how it works. It did get 5 stars on Amazon with >200 reviews.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to BuckeyeBW For This Useful Post:

    Kcsftbl (03-13-2018)

  8. #5
    I can talk softball all day Ariel116's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 68 Times in 39 Posts

    Default

    We use the gopro session 5 and my husband climbs up the backstop to mount it so it makes a great video!

    https://youtu.be/YZlSZws9qJ0?t=12m27s

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Ariel116 For This Useful Post:

    Kcsftbl (03-13-2018)

  10. #6
    I can talk softball all day justanotherguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    479
    Thanks
    137
    Thanked 234 Times in 153 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ariel116 View Post
    We use the gopro session 5 and my husband climbs up the backstop to mount it so it makes a great video!

    https://youtu.be/YZlSZws9qJ0?t=12m27s
    I'm kind of amazed at how far such small cameras have come. Watching your footage now. I've got a full HD camcorder that I use a linkspyder with. I don't know (other than the wide angle lens) that I could tell a difference in regular light between the two. My son and I used a go pro and hero bullet cam years ago for motorcycle racing, and they weren't that great. Technology has come a long way!

  11. #7
    Checking out the clubhouse loubif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BuckeyeBW View Post
    Tons of very good, much cheaper alternatives on Amazon as well. Just search Action Cameras and it will pull them up. I did research before I bought mine, which is around $50, and I am supposed to get it today. I will use it for a week and then get back to you on how it works. It did get 5 stars on Amazon with >200 reviews.
    Very interested in your findings as I was on Amazon looking for an action camera as well, I found that the ones that showed perfect 5 star ratings with 100+ reviews may be false, as I looked and researched the same make and model outside of Amazon found that some of those "perfect" rated cameras had actual real world ratings that varied, mostly that at first the camera operated great but after a short time or number of uses it would stop working, now this is only on a 2-3 that I researched but am very interested as to what people are using that are reliable as I would like to buy once if that is possible.

  12. #8
    I can talk softball all day grmerrill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 112 Times in 66 Posts

    Default

    Regardless of the manufacturer I would make sure you can run the camera off of an external battery, so much easier than trying to swap out batteries.

    And you will be amazed, when you for back to watch the footage, what you didn't see.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to grmerrill For This Useful Post:

    4 girl's dad (03-13-2018)

  14. #9
    Softball Junkie Rambler34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    579
    Thanked 375 Times in 211 Posts

    Default

    I received one of the cheaper ones from Amazon as a gift. The Akaso Brave 4. I will say yes the reviews are fake. They offer a package of accessories for 5 star reviews. In all honesty I would buy it again. The video quality is outstanding and it works well with the phone app or the remote they have in the box.

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rambler34 For This Useful Post:

    Josh Greer (03-14-2018), loubif (03-14-2018)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --