Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Another Scoring Question

  1. #1
    I'm a fan TopCatDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts

    Default Another Scoring Question

    How would you score this and why...

    Runners on first and second. Batter hits to shallow gap between CF and LF. Runners hold up thinking it should have been caught. Runner on second gets thrown out at third on the force.

    Thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,341
    Thanks
    2,295
    Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,306 Posts

    Default

    Fielders choice, reasoning is it just is.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to quincy For This Useful Post:

    Sweet Lou (09-14-2017)

  4. #3
    I can talk softball all day Bob516's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    just outside of NYC
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 47 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TopCatDad View Post
    How would you score this and why...

    Runners on first and second. Batter hits to shallow gap between CF and LF. Runners hold up thinking it should have been caught. Runner on second gets thrown out at third on the force.

    Lets just assume it was the CF who threw the ball to the third. I would put it in my scorecard as FC 8-5. As quincy said it is a fielders choice

    From Wikipedia, if that is worth anything,

    Fielder's choice is defined in MLB Rule 2, "Definitions", as "the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner." FC is recorded for the batter-runner if he reaches first base safely regardless of whether the attempt to put out the other runner(s) is successful. If the other runner is successfully put out for the third out, FC is recorded for the batter-runner regardless of whether he had already reached first base
    Last edited by Bob516; 09-13-2017 at 09:09 AM.

  5. #4
    I'm a fan Ryan2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    I would score it as a hit. If you score as a fielders choice the batter is not credited with a hit. The OP makes its sound like a hit and not an error. My interpretation of a fielders choice is if the fielder wanted to go to 1st to get an out but attempts on a different runner it is a fielders choice. But if they could not have got the batter and there wasn't an error it must be scored a hit.
    Don't penalize the batter.

    A batter who reaches first base safely as the result of a fielder's choice is not credited with a hit or a time on base; however, his turn at the plate is recorded as an at bat and plate appearance.
    Last edited by Ryan2; 09-13-2017 at 09:29 AM.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Ryan2 For This Useful Post:

    Gags (09-13-2017)

  7. #5
    I can talk softball all day Bob516's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    just outside of NYC
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 47 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan2 View Post
    I would score it as a hit. If you score as a fielders choice the batter is not credited with a hit. The OP makes its sound like a hit and not an error. My interpretation of a fielders choice is if the fielder wanted to go to 1st to get an out but attempts on a different runner it is a fielders choice. But if they could not have got the batter and there wasn't an error it must be scored a hit.
    Don't penalize the batter.
    Good point, since the centerfielder would not have had a chance to get the batter out, you have convinced me it should be a hit. I would score the batter as S8

    I would mark the runner on second out 8-5.

  8. #6
    Allergic to BS Strike2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    256
    Thanked 235 Times in 149 Posts

    Default

    If the runner is successfully thrown out at 2B or 3B, then technically I guess it's a Fielder's Choice.

    However, given this specific scenario, if I'm keeping team stats, I don't score it that way...I'll score it as a base hit with a put-out at 2B or 3B (especially if it's MY daughter at the plate!). My team, my book.

    If the runner isn't put out at 2B/3B, it's a base hit all day long. The concept of the "Fielder's Choice" is that the fielder actually decides to go for the lead runner instead of the out at 1B. For that to be a valid "choice", there should be at least the possibility of an out at 1B. Given the description, there really isn't any way the batter is going to be thrown out at 1B. The outfielder is trying to get the only possible out, and that's the runner going to 2B or 3B. I'm sure not going to deny the batter credit for a hit because the OF tried for the only possible out, and failed.
    Last edited by Strike2; 09-13-2017 at 09:54 AM.

  9. #7
    Certified softball maniac canyonjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,697
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 869 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    You can't make up scoring rules. It's a FC.

  10. The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to canyonjoe For This Useful Post:

    CoogansBluff (09-13-2017), Down and Out (09-13-2017), Greenmonsters (09-13-2017), Lightning (09-13-2017), MNDad (09-14-2017), riseball (09-14-2017), TopCatDad (09-13-2017)

  11. #8
    I can talk softball all day Gags's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 65 Times in 52 Posts

    Default

    I'm only going off the quoted text above - Wikipedia is quoting the OBR, which says "fielding a ground ball" - this was a fly ball to the OF - would that negate the use of FC?

    Changing scenario slightly - R1 & R2, hard ground ball in the hole that's clearly a base hit. R2 trips heading to third, LF throws to 3B for force out. Still an FC? I can't see why the batter should get penalized - unless the definition of a "hit" includes the reference that all batters safely advance at least one base?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #9
    I can talk softball all day Bob516's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    just outside of NYC
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 47 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    Wikipedia has a page on MLB rules for FC, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fielder%27s_choice

    Where would one find the softball rules for this situation?

  13. #10
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,341
    Thanks
    2,295
    Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,306 Posts

    Default

    DD has hit many balls that she would have been safe if no one else was on base, it does not work that way. Including hitting to oF.

  14. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to quincy For This Useful Post:

    CoachJD (09-13-2017), Ryan2 (09-13-2017)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --