Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: Scoring Question

  1. #11
    I can talk softball all day Softball scholar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 144 Times in 101 Posts

    Default

    Every play is different but the rebound off the pitcher to SS to 1B is normally a complicated play, and the SS has to always rush it. I think 99% time a hit. Maybe exception is , say SS gets the ball off pitcher really quick on an easy bounce, and you have extremely slow runner, and SS makes horrible throw then maybe an error.


    How about this one. Routine high fly ball to outfielder, outfielder comes into much and total misreads ball. Outfielder gets close but tries to catch ball but totally whiffs. Doesn't hit her glove (Just misses). Do your score that a hit an error?
    "If you can meet with triumph and disaster and treat these two imposters just the same". R Kipling

  2. #12
    TMD
    TMD is online now
    I can talk softball all day TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    197
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 201 Times in 86 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Softball scholar View Post
    How about this one. Routine high fly ball to outfielder, outfielder comes into much and total misreads ball. Outfielder gets close but tries to catch ball but totally whiffs. Doesn't hit her glove (Just misses). Do your score that a hit an error?
    Well, according to the NCAA rules, this would not be an error.

    14.22 No Error is Charged
    14.22.8 When a fly ball is misjudged and the fielder cannot recover in time to make the play.

  3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TMD For This Useful Post:

    CoogansBluff (05-19-2017), JoeKC (05-19-2017), Softball scholar (05-19-2017)

  4. #13
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball CoogansBluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    5,090
    Thanks
    1,672
    Thanked 2,891 Times in 1,566 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chinamigarden View Post
    Sounds like an error to me.
    Having read back over the OP, I'll hitch my wagon here.

    F6 had the ball cleanly with enough time to get the batter/runner and threw it away.

    E-6

    Give batter a hand for her line drive. Give F6 a hand for her speed, alertness and hustle.

    However, as I understand the facts:

    1. F6 had the ball in time to make the play.

    2. F6 threw it away.

    That's an error.

  5. #14
    Certified softball maniac FP26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,069
    Thanks
    1,532
    Thanked 1,414 Times in 859 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CoogansBluff View Post
    Having read back over the OP, I'll hitch my wagon here.

    F6 had the ball cleanly with enough time to get the batter/runner and threw it away.

    E-6

    Give batter a hand for her line drive. Give F6 a hand for her speed, alertness and hustle.

    However, as I understand the facts:

    1. F6 had the ball in time to make the play.

    2. F6 threw it away.

    That's an error.
    Based on the bold above, I would also score this E-6. If there is any doubt that a clean throw would have resulted in an out, I would credit a hit. JMHO.
    "Once you stop learning, you start dying" -- Albert Einstein.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to FP26 For This Useful Post:

    CoogansBluff (05-19-2017)

  7. #15
    Wannabe Duck Boat Owner Greenmonsters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,173
    Thanks
    5,469
    Thanked 4,468 Times in 2,395 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CoogansBluff View Post
    Having read back over the OP, I'll hitch my wagon here.

    F6 had the ball cleanly with enough time to get the batter/runner and threw it away.

    E-6

    Give batter a hand for her line drive. Give F6 a hand for her speed, alertness and hustle.

    However, as I understand the facts:

    1. F6 had the ball in time to make the play.

    2. F6 threw it away.

    That's an error.
    You need to consider time and space. Once the line drive reflects off the pitcher's glove, the time element becomes non-routine IMO i.e., most often a deflectedball leaves less time for a play at first. As the situation has been explained, I'm inclined to rule H. But...I'd take into consideration how hard the ball was hit, the change in direction and speed caused by the deflection etc..

    If the ball wasn't smoked, it might be an E on F1 although they do get some 'special' consideration under scoring guidelines.
    “It is what we learn after we know it all that really counts” - John Wooden

  8. #16
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball grcsftbll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    3,021
    Thanks
    1,706
    Thanked 1,510 Times in 915 Posts

    Default

    Would anyone score it an error on the pitcher, since her glove deflected it? Usually any hard hit ball I will not score an error on the pitcher because of reaction time at that distance. Just curious.
    Softball Mom

  9. #17
    I can talk softball all day Down and Out's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 73 Times in 46 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grcsftbll View Post
    Would anyone score it an error on the pitcher, since her glove deflected it? Usually any hard hit ball I will not score an error on the pitcher because of reaction time at that distance. Just curious.
    Reading directly from the "Pitcher's Parent Code of Score Keeping" Never E1 always E6. Or you could score it E3 if she didn't try hard enough to catch it. Then I'd have pitcher talk to coach after the inning about crappy pitch calling.

    In all seriousness, I don't think any deflected ball is routine. Plus a line drive up the middle means she probably missed her spot fat and needs to be responsible for giving up the hit. No errors on this play for me.

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Down and Out For This Useful Post:

    grcsftbll (05-19-2017), Sparky Guy (05-20-2017)

  11. #18
    I can talk softball all day flipper14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 110 Times in 49 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flipper14 View Post
    I was a statistician in the NBA for nearly a decade and one of the guys on our crew is an MLB scorekeeper. I of course watch baseball but I don't think I even understood how strictly I was assessing the softball scoring decisions I was making until I started asking him questions, or even sending him videos on difficult calls.

    First, I think softball is much more difficult to score than baseball because of the close proximity of the bases, which makes it difficult to know on a slight bobble, for example, if a player still would have made it had the ball been fielded cleanly. Those are tough judgment calls.

    As for this play, a ball being knocked off a pitchers glove hit hard enough not to charge the pitcher with an error on a ball that you describe as "a line drive up the middle" you are penalizing the hitter and the shortstop in favor of a pitcher who just gave up a line drive up the middle that if she doesn't get a glove on is a hit anyway.

    I'd say clearly a hit in this scenario. This was not an "ordinary effort" play by the shortstop as described.
    Just got a text back from my friend who is an MLB official scorer. So much for my reasoning. He said MLB's standard is that "no matter how great of a fielding play a guy makes, once he gets himself in a good throwing position, he's responsible for making a good throw and any actions he takes should be judged accordingly."

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to flipper14 For This Useful Post:

    JoeKC (05-19-2017)

  13. #19
    Certified softball maniac FP26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,069
    Thanks
    1,532
    Thanked 1,414 Times in 859 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grcsftbll View Post
    Would anyone score it an error on the pitcher, since her glove deflected it? Usually any hard hit ball I will not score an error on the pitcher because of reaction time at that distance. Just curious.
    I am typically more "forgiving" with the pitcher since she is closer to the point of impact and rarely in a good defensive position. At least not right away. Much less time to react. That said, I have never agreed with the rules surrounding "earned runs". If a pitcher does truly make an error, why wouldn't runs associated with it be earned? It was the pitcher's error.... I guess that is a rant for another thread. Lol!

    In regards to deflections. I have seen pitchers deflect balls that would have been a routine play for the shortstop, that ultimately ended up as a clean hit. I have seen others that would have been a clean single up the middle turned into a 4-3 or 6-3 ground out. Heck, I even saw a line drive bounce off the pitcher's head (luckily wasn't hurt seriously) and caught by the 2nd baseman. All depends on the situation of the play. That's where the scorer needs to use some judgement. I made my decision simply based on the description provided by the OP. If I actually witnessed the play in question, I may think differently.
    "Once you stop learning, you start dying" -- Albert Einstein.

  14. #20
    Checking out the clubhouse razzo5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Upstate South Carolina
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mad4Ball View Post
    Ball is a line drive up the middle. Pitcher gets some of it with her glove slowing it down. SS comes running in hard to make the play at first but rushes the throw and pulls 1st of her base and the runner is safe. If SS took her time with the throw she had enough time to get the runner at first but if she had not gotten there so quickly the runner might have been safe regardless.

    Is this an error on the SS?
    To answer you question. Yes, error on the SS. No hit for the batter. Score as E6

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --