Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Force 3 Pro Gear opinions?

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day quandofloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    322
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 238 Times in 98 Posts

    Default Force 3 Pro Gear opinions?

    Defender Hockey Style Mask Force3 Pro Gear

    redcat-e1487441506826.jpg

    The catching coach that my DD has been working with recently recommends this gear. Does anyone have experience with it? The bottom mounts on my DD's helmet have broken so I need to replace her helmet ASAP.

  2. #2
    Softball Junkie Tatonka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    493
    Thanked 401 Times in 247 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quandofloo View Post
    Defender Hockey Style Mask – Force3 Pro Gear

    redcat-e1487441506826.jpg

    The catching coach that my DD has been working with recently recommends this gear. Does anyone have experience with it? The bottom mounts on my DD's helmet have broken so I need to replace her helmet ASAP.
    No experience here yet but we've been waiting to get a hands on look at it...a real world review would be great!

  3. #3
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    8,405
    Thanks
    5,297
    Thanked 6,391 Times in 3,295 Posts

    Default

    I really like a lot of the features that they have included in the helmet to help limit concussion potential. However, the long chin is usually a deal-breaker for my DD. I'm still wanting to hear more about the Force3 gear from someone who has their hands on it.
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  4. #4
    I can talk softball all day CCJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Charlottesville, VA
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 145 Times in 45 Posts

    Default

    Eric,

    I've seen this thing in person and have had extensive discussion about it with parents of students with concussion backgrounds. It is a game-changer, and the technology they are putting out there is truly revolutionary. There have been a few masks out there with "for show" shock absorbing springs. But those weren't anything more than pen springs, with little to absolutely zero research and development to warrant buying into their marketing spiel. Force3 has actually done the work and their mask is being widely adopted throughout both games as the standard in concussion prevention. It is not perfect, nothing is for that matter, but this is the biggest step forward without a doubt.
    Owner/Co-Founder The Catching Camp Jay@catchingcamp.com FOLLOW TCC ON FACEBOOK!
    I will forever miss you Dad. You are my hero. Heaven's catchers just got a whole heck of a lot better... (RIP Coach Weaver 1955-2011)

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CCJR For This Useful Post:

    Eric F (05-02-2018), reagansdaddy (05-03-2018)

  6. #5
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    8,405
    Thanks
    5,297
    Thanked 6,391 Times in 3,295 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CCJR View Post
    Eric,

    I've seen this thing in person and have had extensive discussion about it with parents of students with concussion backgrounds. It is a game-changer, and the technology they are putting out there is truly revolutionary. There have been a few masks out there with "for show" shock absorbing springs. But those weren't anything more than pen springs, with little to absolutely zero research and development to warrant buying into their marketing spiel. Force3 has actually done the work and their mask is being widely adopted throughout both games as the standard in concussion prevention. It is not perfect, nothing is for that matter, but this is the biggest step forward without a doubt.
    This is good to hear. Thanks for your input, Jay. Your opinion carries a lot of weight for me (and I suspect a few others around here).
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Eric F For This Useful Post:

    4 girl's dad (05-02-2018)

  8. #6
    I can talk softball all day Gags's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    341
    Thanks
    240
    Thanked 116 Times in 89 Posts

    Default

    I only have the facemask - worn it catching for about 5 games now, but (fortunately?) haven't yet taken any hits off it yet. If you haven't held one yet, the springs are ALOT stiffer than I was expecting (don't know if the Wilson FX was the same) - but that also makes sense, given the amount of force a ball is going to be applying, vs. the amount of force I could apply by just trying to compress it with my hands.

    Leather pads have been comfortable - haven't worn it in the summer months yet, so that part of the review is TBD.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gags For This Useful Post:

    Eric F (05-02-2018), reagansdaddy (05-03-2018)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --