Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Batter out of the box

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day AndyS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    389
    Thanked 498 Times in 163 Posts

    Default Batter out of the box

    NCAA rule set - I know the rule changed for 2018 from any part of the foot on the chalk as legal to any part of the foot out now being an out. Just watched my DD play 16 games in Florida and I saw it called multiple times so also seems to be a point of emphasis. Worked in our favor a number of times. Just curious what others are seeing?
    Last edited by AndyS; 03-12-2018 at 06:05 PM.

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day gamommax3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    678
    Thanked 126 Times in 67 Posts

    Default

    I have seen it called repeatedly in NCAA games this spring already. Some have clearly been out of the batters box (even on the plate) but some have not. And once there are no lines left to see the batter's box, I have a problem with the umpire "guessing" that they were out of the box. If she is on the plate or extremely close to it then it isn't hard to deduce she is out of the box. But if it is further toward the front of the box and no lines are left, I don't see how they can call it. I saw Auburn argue it more than once in the past week or so.
    Coach's wife and #7's mom

  3. #3
    Proud softball dad NCSteeler43's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 14 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Weíve seen it called a lot too. Itís clearly a point of emphasis. I think itís fine to enforce a new rule - I am just not sure how any umpire can call balls and strikes while at the same time watch for feet being fully on a rough chalk line or slightly over it.

  4. #4
    TMD
    TMD is offline
    I can talk softball all day TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    247
    Thanked 296 Times in 134 Posts

    Default

    Definitely a point of emphasis early on this season...especially in the initial tournys and non-conf games. I didn't notice it as much this past weekend in the conference games I caught online, but it was still being called.

    btw, congrats on the NCAC PiOW award last week. It's feels weird that Kenyon has played 16 games already, while Denison has played 0...darn those late Spring Breaks!

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to TMD For This Useful Post:

    AndyS (03-13-2018)

  6. #5
    I can talk softball all day Anthony Vertuccio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Sayville
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 157 Times in 58 Posts

    Default

    A umpire chief told my pitching coach that there is almost no way to call it properly once the lines are gone.
    Coach Tucci St Josephs College (Brooklyn) Assistant Head Coach and LI Surge 16U HC

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Anthony Vertuccio For This Useful Post:

    gamommax3 (03-13-2018), TMD (03-13-2018)

  8. #6
    I can talk softball all day AndyS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    389
    Thanked 498 Times in 163 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TMD View Post
    Definitely a point of emphasis early on this season...especially in the initial tournys and non-conf games. I didn't notice it as much this past weekend in the conference games I caught online, but it was still being called.

    btw, congrats on the NCAC PiOW award last week. It's feels weird that Kenyon has played 16 games already, while Denison has played 0...darn those late Spring Breaks!
    Thank you and as my DD said the key is to pitch/play well early when not all the teams are playing to maximize your shot at an award. Good luck to your DD this year!

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to AndyS For This Useful Post:

    TMD (03-13-2018)

  10. #7
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,385
    Thanks
    2,854
    Thanked 2,543 Times in 1,634 Posts

    Default

    I do not know if it was this site or a different site but a recent line I liked.

    My DD is a slapper and got called out in 2nd inning for stepping outside the frount line of batter's box.
    Someone answered .. If the front line of box existed, your DD is not a slapper.

    As far as I can figure 1st rule of slapping is to erase front line of batter's box.
    Last edited by quincy; 03-13-2018 at 11:55 AM.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to quincy For This Useful Post:

    gamommax3 (03-13-2018)

  12. #8
    I can talk softball all day AndyS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    389
    Thanked 498 Times in 163 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NCSteeler43 View Post
    We’ve seen it called a lot too. It’s clearly a point of emphasis. I think it’s fine to enforce a new rule - I am just not sure how any umpire can call balls and strikes while at the same time watch for feet being fully on a rough chalk line or slightly over it.
    That was the exact point the opposing coach was making in our last game yesterday. The discussion was loud enough for all to hear. Umpire said I can call both because I have been trained to drop my eyes to the feet as soon as contact is made and I gave your batter the benefit of the doubt due to the condition of the chalk. I honestly did not watch the feet so I have no clue.

  13. #9
    I can talk softball all day BuckeyeBW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 111 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    We once played a game where the lines were gone, and the ump kept warning our girls. He then took one of the batter's bats and drew a makeshift box in the dirt. Ever see this? Is it legal? Can you ask an ump to do that? Just wondering for future reference.

  14. #10
    I'm a fan IndyHScoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Western Indiana
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    113
    Thanked 84 Times in 41 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BuckeyeBW View Post
    We once played a game where the lines were gone, and the ump kept warning our girls. He then took one of the batter's bats and drew a makeshift box in the dirt. Ever see this? Is it legal? Can you ask an ump to do that? Just wondering for future reference.
    I don't know if you can request it but I can tell you if you draw it in for them they let you watch the rest of the game from the bus.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to IndyHScoach For This Useful Post:

    matt (03-15-2018)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --