I don’t understand why they’re holding out on it. It’s legal in international play. It’s legal everywhere else. And they don’t ever call it so why have it?
The Following User Says Thank You to Lozza For This Useful Post:
The difference is you have 6 maybe 7 teams who are competitive in international play. (Japan/USA/Canada/Australia/China/Puetro Rico off the top of my head)
So of course college will be better.
I’m not personally a fan of the leap (I was PISSED when found out for the same reasons you are) but it is legal. And the NCAA umpires don’t call it (well except oncejust now. Not sure why that pitch is called and all the other illegal ones aren’t)
Did you know in international play you no longer need to start with both feet on the plate?