I'm Either Arrogant or Crazy

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 19, 2013
I'm just a parent/pitching coach for my DD who has been reading and watching pretty much everything I can get my hands on regarding pitching for the last few years. Finally ending up here at least 5 days a week to see what's going on and trying to interpret that for where I think she is and what we should work on. We also get to see Ken B somewhat regularly for his help.

Lately I've had the opportunity to observe arguably the most popular pitching coach in my state over a few weeks.

My DD has not had a lesson with her. I'm just watching for a couple hours a week and analyzing what I see. The crazy part is that even though most of the pitchers I see in her lessons are faster than my daughter and most have at least one aspect that is stronger I still can't imagine going to her. In fact I want rip my hair out every week. I watch GOOD pitchers show up looking strong with good I/R only to have her put them on chalk circles on the wall counteracting their good arm position. Or I watch drills of girls who look great and then she has them pitching from one of those chutes for 40 minutes. Or 30 minutes on the spinners to learn the rise. I watched her correcting a girls foot position for quite some time and then try to show her how she does it only to see that she doesn't do what she thinks/says she does. She also likes to sell the weird apparatus that she recommends for the drills of course!

To put the cherry on the top the two best pitchers I've witnessed so far - when I heard their conversations - I found out that they were new students of hers so didn't get where they are from her at all.