Fun and Competitive Practice Drills/Games

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 20, 2024
Hello All!!
I am a Middle School softball coach and I am looking for any ideas about what fun and competitive games, drills and activities to incorporate into our practices. Hit me with your best games, the ones your softball players love the most! I'm always looking for new ways to get the girls competitive and trying to incorporate some new ideas into practices. Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks!!

Jan 5, 2018
PNW
Here are a few options. When doing “games” in practice we tried to encourage hustle, competitiveness, teamwork, “thinking”. Worried less about proper form/techniques since those were worked on in other aspects of practice and we hoped to see the executed in the “game”

-Running relay: half of team at 2b half at home plate. When coach says “GO” runner from second goes home. Runner from home runs to 2b. First team to get their players to home/2b wins. We saw girls run harder and faster under this competitive situation. You can extend this by having the players who run 2b to home go to end of line and return to 2b. And similarly H to 2b to H so you finish where you started but have to restart at a base 2 bases away.

Home to 1B. Have all players start at the same position. Each player runs home to 1b. Instead of timing them count their steps. Next time through can they reach 1B in less steps. Can they reduce their step count by one the text time through. This focuses less on “time” and who’s the fastest and promotes individual competition against oneself to do better.