SECTION 22—NO ERROR IS CHARGED
No error is charged to a fielder in the following situations:
14.22.1 When a ball is misplayed because of being lost in the
sun or lights, blown by the wind, or if the fielder slips and falls
— even if contact is made with the ball.
14.22.2 When there is a mental mistake. Throwing to the
wrong base is considered a mental mistake.
14.22.3 When a catcher attempts a pick-off, unless the runner
advances an additional base.
14.22.4 When a runner returns safely to her original base on
14.22.5 When a runner beats a wild throw or dropped catch
(unless an additional base is gained or a good throw would not
have led to a different result). This also pertains to the second or
third out of a double or triple play.
Note: A dropped ball by the receiver is an error if the runner
would have been out.
14.22.6 When a ball is hit with such force, so slowly or with
erratic spin, that it would require more than ordinary effort to
play the ball.
14.22.7 When a fly ball is misjudged and the fielder cannot
recover in time to make the play.
14.22.8 When a fielder drops a ball after running a considerable
distance or if she fails in her attempt to catch the ball while
running at a high rate of speed.
14.22.9 When a fielder drops a line drive after moving more
than a few steps to catch the ball.
14.22.10 As a result of an illegal pitch, wild pitch, passed ball
or hit batter, even if more than one base is gained from the initial
14.22.11 When a runner advances on a dropped third strike.
In such a case, a wild pitch or passed ball shall be charged; however,
if an accurate throw or proper catch would have resulted
in an out, an error shall be charged to the appropriate player.
14.22.12 When a pitcher mishandles a sharply batted ball.
Wild throws and the mishandling of routine ground balls and
bunts are reason for charging the pitcher with an error.
14.22.13 When a wild throw is made in an effort to prevent a
runner from stealing, no error is charged even if a good throw
would have resulted in a putout, unless the runner advances at
least one additional base.
14.22.14 When a fielder intentionally does not catch a foul fly
ball to prevent a runner from advancing.
14.22.15 When the official scorer charges the pitcher with a
wild pitch or the catcher with a passed ball.
14.22.16 When a batter advances on a dropped third strike
that is also a wild pitch or passed ball. In this case, the batter is
charged with a strikeout and the pitcher or catcher with a wild
pitch or passed ball, respectively.