Certified softball maniac
As loosely worded as the rule is, the interpretation from USSSA does note that the runner is out if they interfere with the throw while out the lane.
Originally Posted by jbooth
The interpretation adds; "and interferes with a thrown ball", but it still says nothing about the fielder taking the throw, or the need for a quality throw.
Originally Posted by MTR
From the manual;
Out for interference when;
Runs to First outside the three foot lane and interferes with a thrown ball
EFFECT: Dead ball; Batter/runner is out; all runners must return to last base
The wording above would cover interfering with the ball in-flight, and/or the fielder taking the throw.
The ump would have to judge that you can't have interfered with the throw, if the throw could not be played upon. (not quality.)
So, IMO all rule codes rule it the same way, but USSSA is not as clear.
Last edited by jbooth; 07-20-2012 at 09:24 PM.