Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Batter/Runner stops going to first then....

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day coachdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    415
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Batter/Runner stops going to first then....

    Runner on 1st ball hit to 1st baseman and she goes to tag Batter/Runner going to first, runner stops and takes one step backward. She was called out as soon as she stepped backwards. This part I agree with 100%. The part that i'm unsure of is that the ump awarded R1 second base, ump said she was already at second before B/R stepped backward.

    I believe R1 should have to return to 1st base because B/R is not allowed to go backward, she is allowed to stop but not retreat.

  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day T Red's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Foothills of NC
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the B/R had not stepped back would R1 have mad it to 2nd? In other words did 1B have time to make a play on R1 at 2nd?

  3. #3
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,074
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 754 Times in 472 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The batter/runner stepping back is considered interference, ball is dead immediately and all runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. If in fact the runner had reached 2nd before the batter stepped back, then it would be a correct call. But, unless the ball was just a slow dribbler to 1st and the batter was only jogging to 1st Im not sure I see the runner making it to 2nd before the call. It is one of those would have had to be there to see it.

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    Greenmonsters (04-02-2015),JAD (04-03-2015)

  5. #4
    I can talk softball all day honus14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coachdan View Post
    the ump awarded R1 second base, ump said she was already at second before B/R stepped backward.
    The umpire applied the rule correctly, as stated by Comp. Whether the ump was correct in his or her judgment . . . nothing you can do about that.

  6. #5
    Checking out the clubhouse KCPhoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    The batter/runner stepping back is considered interference, ball is dead immediately and all runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. If in fact the runner had reached 2nd before the batter stepped back, then it would be a correct call. But, unless the ball was just a slow dribbler to 1st and the batter was only jogging to 1st Im not sure I see the runner making it to 2nd before the call. It is one of those would have had to be there to see it.
    Is stepping back interference for all rule sets? Does anyone know the paragraph number for Babe Ruth League?

  7. #6
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball chinamigarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3,135
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,491 Times in 738 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its only considered interference on the way to first base correct?

  8. #7
    Certified softball maniac Sweet Lou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    1,927
    Thanks
    670
    Thanked 670 Times in 437 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chinamigarden View Post
    Its only considered interference on the way to first base correct?
    Correct.

    To add to comp the runner might have also reached 2nd if she was running on the pitch. Or had a big secondary lead.

  9. #8
    Certified softball maniac SoCal_Dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,376
    Thanks
    335
    Thanked 467 Times in 311 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chinamigarden View Post
    Its only considered interference on the way to first base correct?
    Correct, rule is specific to the batter-runner - and only when done to avoid or delay a tag.

    Under NCAA rules, runner(s) must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch, regardless of where they were at the time of the interference.

  10. #9
    Certified softball maniac Sparky Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,767
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 630 Times in 388 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So the best thing to do is to have the batter/runner just walk towards the 1st baseman without stepping backwards. The B/R never stops moving. They are just moving slowly.
    WOC: "Only the names change."

  11. #10
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball chinamigarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3,135
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,491 Times in 738 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky Guy View Post
    So the best thing to do is to have the batter/runner just walk towards the 1st baseman without stepping backwards. The B/R never stops moving. They are just moving slowly.
    stopping is ok, taking the backward step is the problem

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to chinamigarden For This Useful Post:

    Greenmonsters (04-02-2015)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --