Loading
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Another LBR question

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day SamG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Another LBR question

    Situation...

    R1 on third. Batter pops up into foul territory. C takes her mask off and makes the catch. C then returns the ball to the pitcher in the circle. After the pitcher has the ball in the circle, while C is putting her mask back on, R1 takes off for home. Pitcher can't do anything with the ball because C is out of position and doesn't have a glove on.

    PU & BU confer and tell DC... R1 stayed on the bag through the catch. When the ball was returned to the circle, R1 was allowed to leave the bag because she hadn't "changed directions" before.

    I think this is either a LBR violation or a leaving base early situation. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,748
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 498 Times in 337 Posts

    Default

    If the runner was on the bag when the ball was received by the pitcher and in her posession and control, the runner cannot leave the bag. It would be a look back violation.

  3. #3
    Certified softball maniac nanotech14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanks
    1,364
    Thanked 659 Times in 339 Posts

    Default

    depends, did the pitcher catch the ball before the runner left the bag?If the throw was in the air than she can tag up on a popfly if she was standing on the bag.

  4. #4
    I can talk softball all day SamG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I am pretty sure the pitcher had the ball before the runner left. Yes, I could be wrong. But I would think if the runner left while the throw was between C & P, the umpire would have said that.

  5. #5
    Certified softball maniac nanotech14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanks
    1,364
    Thanked 659 Times in 339 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    If the runner was on the bag when the ball was received by the pitcher and in her posession and control, the runner cannot leave the bag. It would be a look back violation.
    thats what I'am wondering too. If the ball was in mid flight from the catcher to the pitcher , then to me it would be just like a pop up to the outfield then.

  6. #6
    Certified softball maniac nanotech14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanks
    1,364
    Thanked 659 Times in 339 Posts

    Default

    some times it is a game of inches and what was seen and not seen,still I would have to admit that is some pretty aggressive base running.

  7. #7
    Certified softball maniac shockcoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,085
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 103 Times in 71 Posts

    Default

    If pitcher had control of the ball while R3 was still on the bag, I have a dead ball out. If they started to take off anytime before control was established, I have a run scored.

    Make sure the runner is on base before getting equipment put back on. Or you can ask for time from the PU, but often times they will not grant it. Some of them are getting picky about that.
    You abide by the ramifications of your decisions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --