Loading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ump complaining of taking to long!!!

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day 99&beyond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default ump complaining of taking to long!!!

    Im 99&beyond DD, and I play 14u, ASA rules. During tonights game the umpire approched me and the pitcher after our defensive inning, and said that we are taking to long to pitch,if we take more then 10 seconds he would start to call everything balls. We were doing our signs, and I was getting into my position. Can he do that?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,769
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 518 Times in 345 Posts

    Default

    Under ASA rules you have 20 seconds to deliver the pitch after receiving the ball back from the catcher. If the umpire feels you are exceeding the time limit, then yes, he can call you for a time violation and issue a ball to the batter.

  3. #3
    Certified softball maniac shockcoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,085
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 103 Times in 71 Posts

    Default

    From what Comp said.

    Rule 6, Section 3-

    O. The pitcher has 20 seconds to release the next pitch after receiving the ball
    or after the umpire indicates “play ball.”
    You abide by the ramifications of your decisions.

  4. #4
    I can talk softball all day GA42sDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Most of the time the umpire doesn't indicate play ball until the batter is set in the box. We had a umpire doing the same thing in our high school game not to long ago. It seem to me that he didn't want to be there, so why be there. I think most pitchers get the pitch off under 20 seconds. To me it just gives the pitcher more to worry about when a umpire tells them this.

  5. #5
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,769
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 518 Times in 345 Posts

    Default

    The umpire doesnt indicate play ball each and every time the batter steps into the box. The batter is also under a time limit to enter the box, if they exceed it, the umpire can call a strike on them. I normally do not time every batter or pitcher, but, if it becomes obvious they are taking longer than they should I will start timing them.

  6. #6
    I can talk softball all day tghorley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    272
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 103 Times in 38 Posts

    Default

    How much time does the batter have to get into the box? I swear, while my GDD is getting into the box, I can go get a cup of coffee and get back and she still wouldn't be ready. She says she is trying to get relaxed. LOL The ASA umpires never warn her about this!

  7. #7
    Certified softball maniac quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,550
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 246 Times in 203 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tghorley View Post
    How much time does the batter have to get into the box?
    10 seconds to get in their batter's psoition.

  8. #8
    I can talk softball all day 99&beyond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    The umpire doesnt indicate play ball each and every time the batter steps into the box. The batter is also under a time limit to enter the box, if they exceed it, the umpire can call a strike on them. I normally do not time every batter or pitcher, but, if it becomes obvious they are taking longer than they should I will start timing them.
    Mom here -

    They did not appear to be taking any longer than normal, or any longer than the other team.
    This particular ump is a jerk. Every coach at the park thinks so.
    He was constantly in DD's way. He even complained about her diving after a popup foul that she ran into him.
    The sad thing is at the time he complained about the time it was taking them to pitch, we were already down 24 to nothing. Really? You are going to give the other team an even BIGGER advantage because you are on a power trip? Luckily the game was called right after that.

    This was just something new that we had never heard of and I told her to come on here and ask because someone would know the correct answer. Thanks for answering her questions!!

  9. #9
    I can talk softball all day rowdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    If the pitcher is in the circle when she gets the ball back from the catcher the clock starts then. 20 seconds isn't all that long and a lot is happening in that time. If an umpire approached you then you were taking too long.

  10. #10
    Softball Junkie Screwball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    973
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 177 Times in 146 Posts

    Default

    I also see a section in ASA rules referring to the pitcher holding the ball for at least 1 second to no more than 10 seconds to get a signal. (Section 1. Preliminaries.) So it could be that.

    If the ump was being less clear, there is actually two sets of 10 seconds making up the twenty, if you use up the "hold" position time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --