Loading
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Obstruction call that I should know but don't

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day Elk Grove Hurricane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 75 Times in 38 Posts

    Default Obstruction call that I should know but don't

    Situation: Runners on 1st and third, runner from first attempts steal. Batter is called for obstruction (she does step into the catcher's way and bumps her, no doubt about the obstruction). Throw goes wide, runner from third crosses the plate. The Call: Batter is out, runner who was stealing second is allowed to stay at second, runner who was at third is sent back to third.
    I always thought that the batter would remain at bat, the runner stealing second would be out, and as the ball is dead with the obstruction call the runner at third would remain there. But I admit that I am not sure enough of this call to take a stand on the issue (and I'm not a coach ). What is the correct call?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 534 Times in 356 Posts

    Default

    First off, the defense obstructs, the offense interferes.

    What you have described is interference, not obstruction. When you have interference, the ball is dead immediately, the player who committed the interference is out and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. Based on your play, the correct call should have been dead ball, batter out and runners returned to 1st and 3rd base.

    But, you dont give the count on the batter for this situation. If this had been strike 3 on the batter you would have interference committed by a batter who was already out. You cannot have the same player out twice, so interference by a player already called out becomes the player closest to home is called out.

  3. #3
    I can talk softball all day Elk Grove Hurricane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 75 Times in 38 Posts

    Default

    Thanks, Comp. I didn't realize there were two different rules (and neither did the ump, who called obstruction.) The count was 1-1 and the pitch was called a strike (meaning it would have been 1-2 if the batter had not been called out). Love this forum for reasons like this, I learn so much.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --