Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: ASA 10U Hit by Pitch Rule?

  1. #1
    Softball Junkie corlay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    827
    Thanks
    441
    Thanked 628 Times in 344 Posts

    Default ASA 10U Hit by Pitch Rule?



    Pitch is outside strike zone
    Batter starts swing, but "freezes". Arms never extended as if to make an attempt to hit ball.
    Pitch is high/inside and strikes batters hand and bat (contact w bat is audible)

    Per ASA 10U Rules, is the correct ruling a foul ball? Or is the batter awarded 1b?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,095 Times in 670 Posts

    Default

    There is no difference in 10U rules for ASA. If the ball hit both the bat and the hands it would be umpire judgement as to which got hit first. If hands got hit first and there was no swing attempt, award 1st base. If bat got hit first, it would be a foul ball.

  3. #3
    JAD
    JAD is online now
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball JAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    7,002
    Thanks
    3,894
    Thanked 5,465 Times in 2,518 Posts

    Default



    Had this happen a couple of weeks ago in a 14U ASA qualifier and the home plate umpire ruled it a foul ball. It is a judgement call, but if the ball hits any part of the bat, including the butt plate, expect them to call it a foul ball.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
TESTTTT
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --