Certified softball maniac
Balks & contact required for INT?
ASA tourney this weekend.
Had 2 IPs called on 1 pitcher and had another pitcher (DD) accused of crow-hopping, which she probably couldn't do if she tried.
The PU called the 2 IPs, arguing that there was a stop-and-start: "No pitch! That's a balk." You see what you see, I suppose, but I couldn't tell. The motion looked relatively smooth to me. The opposing team's pitcher brought ball in glove over and behind her head, but that was never challenged.
Later in the same game, there's a lazy pop up along 3rd base foul line. 3B moves towards ball, but then stops to avoid collision with R1 who was leading off. Ball lands just on the other side of R1. I tell our coach to request an interference call, which he does. BU denies request citing, "There was no contact".
1) I never knew there was any such thing as a 'balk' in ASA.
2) I never knew there was any such rule that required contact in order for INT to be called.
If she had simply said "I did not judge there to be interference on the play," I'd have no argument, but her answer indicated that she was applying a rule that isn't an ASA rule at all, unless I just missed it.
There is no such thing as a balk in any softball.
Illegal pitches are not "no pitch", they are a delayed dead ball. Apparently umpire did not know what he was doing. As for the illegal pitches themselves, couldnt tell you didnt see them, although it is illegal to make any motion to pitch and stopping.
It is not illegal for a pitcher to take ball and glove over the head.
Contact is not necessary for there to be interference. Further, ASA rules state, if the pop up could have been caught with normal effort, fair or foul, both the runner committing the interference, and the batter are out.
On pitching it's not a balk, it would an illegal pitch for not having a continuous motion. Obviously this is a judgement call along with the crow hopping and there is no way to tell without video and you still might get several different opinions.
As far as interference you need to teach your girls two things, fielders rights and runners responsibilities....the fielder has the right to field the ball the runner has a responsibility to let the fielder field the ball. Fielders should NEVER avoid collisions because exactly what you gave as an example happens all the time a fielder take a side step to avoid contact the fielder misses the ball by a step and the umpire rules no interference. If the fielder always attempts to make the play just like they always would then they will ether make the play or the interference will be obvious because it interfered with the normal attempt to make a play on the ball.
As far as the rule, if Comp is quoting the ASA rulebook correctly it seems straight forward, I coach PONY during rec and digging through my PONY rulebook it looks like there might be a difference but it could be that I am just reading it wrong it seems to state the runner (interferer) is out but hitter is safe at first while other runners must return to bases again it could be just me maybe someone who does PONY could help me out.
Certified softball maniac
Originally Posted by Comp
When I re-read rule 8-7-L, though, it says that the runner must have contact with the batted ball in order to get the INT ruling which would also declare the batter out.
Because the runner did not make contact with the batted ball, am I correct in referencing 8-7-J(1) in trying to get that call?
Also, is this an actual appeal play? Or when we ask for time to speak with the umpire, are we merely asking for clarification as to why an INT (or OBS) call wasn't given?
Read the note and exception under 8-7-L.
You can ask the umpire for his explanation of the call or non call, but there is no appealing the play. You may even get him to discuss it with his partner, but the umpire who made the call is the only one who can reverse it. Depending on how he answers the question for his call you may or may not have a case for a protest of the call. The ruling I cited for the two outs is not a very common call, I have made it once in 6 years. Even if you did get them to change the call to interference, then you are going to have to get them to rule the ball was catchable with normal effort.