Loading
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Opinions ?

  1. #1
    Softball Junkie CycloneSoftball22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked 151 Times in 106 Posts

    Default Opinions ?

    I would like to hear your opinions on the info in this video. Disregard the title (I think that thye got the titles mixed up. This is not about the Reverse hand Dril)

    Softball Fastpitch Hitting Reverse Hand Drill - YouTube

  2. #2
    RayR
    Guest RayR's Avatar

    Default

    Pushhands.JPG Demo

    She says to push hands and that's she does in this demo. Is that what you want to do in a swing?

    pushhandslive.JPG Swing

  3. #3
    Softball Junkie CycloneSoftball22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked 151 Times in 106 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTS View Post
    She says to push hands and that's she does in this demo. Is that what you want to do in a swing?
    I didn't say I agree with everything she said. Just looking for opinions

  4. #4
    Certified softball maniac iMlearning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    772
    Thanked 384 Times in 236 Posts

    Default

    It looks to me like a Mendoza video I saw where the load is just shifting the weight on the back leg in a lineal fashion.

  5. #5
    RayR
    Guest RayR's Avatar

    Default

    I was asking rhetorically - not directed at you.

    Quote Originally Posted by CycloneSoftball22 View Post
    I didn't say I agree with everything she said. Just looking for opinions

  6. #6
    Softball Junkie CycloneSoftball22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked 151 Times in 106 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTS View Post
    I was asking rhetorically - not directed at you.
    Understood. But , a lot of dad's/coaches come to this site to learn about what they should be looking for in a swing. They don't know if this is what they want or not , so a clear opinion would most likely be helpful. Anyway , I see a lot of instruction like this in the video (and the Mendoza video that was referenced above). Although it doesn't necessarily promote the "high level" mechanics , would it help a lot of fastpitch players to be relatively successful at whatever level they play?

  7. #7
    Sitting on a bucket Big Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    I think it's a good concept, BUT, I might change it just a bit. The way it's set up, it clicks with weight shift - but you can shift your weight and still have crappy knee drive/hip drive/leg push, etc. Also, if your foot isn't centered on the pivot point you may get a good/bad click that isn't true. If it would click from the force going backwards from the rear leg drive, I think it would give a more natural reading from leg drive. Still, it wouldn't be a 100% feedback on mechanics either. I would rather spend $8 and build my own balance board out of wood to teach weight shift.

  8. #8
    Softball Junkie CycloneSoftball22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked 151 Times in 106 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post
    I think it's a good concept, BUT, I might change it just a bit. The way it's set up, it clicks with weight shift - but you can shift your weight and still have crappy knee drive/hip drive/leg push, etc. Also, if your foot isn't centered on the pivot point you may get a good/bad click that isn't true. If it would click from the force going backwards from the rear leg drive, I think it would give a more natural reading from leg drive. Still, it wouldn't be a 100% feedback on mechanics either. I would rather spend $8 and build my own balance board out of wood to teach weight shift.

    Not looking for a review on the product. Talking more about the hitting instruction

  9. #9
    Softball Junkie David Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Universal City Texas
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 248 Times in 195 Posts

    Default

    I think the big thing really missing is the coil and tilt during stride, although I have seen this method instructed numerous times. Basically everything is loaded, coiled and tilted during the initial negative move/load then during the stride everything is simply held back then released as the hips come forward. While I don't think it is optimal it seems to work. One thing you will notice on MLB players that do this is as hard as they try to simply hold you can always see them reach back for that little extra tilt usually with a little pinch of the lower half before coming forward they just can't help themselves.

    p.s. after looking closely at her video you can tell she does exactly what I was talking about check out the super slo mo and the end her tow toe is at 2:18 then even though her hips leak forward they coil slightly same with the back elbow and hands they reach back slightly before releasing.

    I have also seen the load and coil taught first then hold and tilt as you stride then release
    Last edited by David Carter; 01-25-2013 at 04:45 PM.

  10. #10
    Softball Junkie CycloneSoftball22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked 151 Times in 106 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Carter View Post
    I think the big thing really missing is the coil and tilt during stride, although I have seen this method instructed numerous times. Basically everything is loaded, coiled and tilted during the initial negative move/load then during the stride everything is simply held back then released as the hips come forward. While I don't think it is optimal it seems to work. One thing you will notice on MLB players that do this is as hard as they try to simply hold you can always see them reach back for that little extra tilt usually with a little pinch of the lower half before coming forward they just can't help themselves.

    Like I said , I know it isn't MLB worthy , but can this type of instruction be effective for the average player to be successful?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --