Loading

View Poll Results: Bunting - Pivot or Square around?

Voters
23. You may not vote on this poll
  • Pivot

    21 91.30%
  • Square around

    2 8.70%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Bunting style your opinions?

  1. #1
    Softball Junkie cuzmail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    On the bucket
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 257 Times in 165 Posts

    Default Bunting style your opinions?

    To pivot the feet or Step over and square around? (Hope I explained that good enough?)

    What are the major colleges teaching and looking for?

    Let the fun begin!
    TIA

  2. #2
    13th Step Softball Addict coach james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Mid West
    Posts
    1,975
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 644 Times in 458 Posts

    Default

    Every coach may have their own opinion. So if your looking for what a college wants. Study that school and that coaches philosophy. For me I teach the girls to pivot and point their toes towards first, and the right foot steps towards first and lands at the same time the bat "catches" the ball. This is for a sneaky drag bunt. For a sacrifice, they will square up early and slowly exit the box after contact to box out the catcher for a half second. Gotta be subtle on this move so you dont get an obstruction call.

  3. #3
    Certified softball maniac knightsb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,330
    Thanks
    915
    Thanked 829 Times in 417 Posts

    Default

    Like Coach James, it depends. If we are trying a sneeky bunt, we pivot. For a sacrifice we pivot or square depending on what the player is most comfortable with.

  4. #4
    Softball Junkie cuzmail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    On the bucket
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 257 Times in 165 Posts

    Default

    I have a feeling that both will will be the consensus based on the situation. Maybe I should add a combination choice to the poll?

  5. #5
    Certified softball maniac SBFAMILY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lexington,Ohio
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    983
    Thanked 320 Times in 223 Posts

    Default

    Watch Team USA DVD video on bunting and slapping. It is excellent and lets you know why and how they teach a selected way! They have the supporting documentation to support a view. I have been to 20 plus college's and in most cases teaching is not a strong point in college. After watching my dd a few have actually had her demo and they changed what they were teaching.
    Last edited by SBFAMILY; 02-06-2013 at 11:40 AM.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to SBFAMILY For This Useful Post:

    Perfect Circle (02-06-2013)

  7. #6
    Certified softball maniac Perfect Circle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2,260
    Thanks
    3,330
    Thanked 395 Times in 349 Posts

    Default

    I told DD if anyone squares up on her, throw the ball right at them...free strike :{))
    Warning !!! Proud Dad: views expressed are only experiential experimenting 8-14u... do not try at home !!!!!!alone
    PS: I highly value cinematography and aesthetics and am not a DFP-certified hitting guru. Not yet, that is! 740-500-0157

  8. #7
    Certified softball maniac quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,556
    Thanks
    349
    Thanked 248 Times in 205 Posts

    Default

    DD’s has always done a pivot. She is trying to switch to hitting lefty, not slapping yet just hitting, and that extra step towards 1st when squaring up is awful attractive.

  9. #8
    Softball Junkie cuzmail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    On the bucket
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 257 Times in 165 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SBFAMILY View Post
    Watch Team USA DVD video on bunting and slapping. It is excellent and lets you know why and how they teach a selected way! They have the supporting documentation to support a view. I have been to 20 plus college's and in most cases teaching is not a strong point in college. After watching my dd a few have actually had her demo and they changed what they were teaching.
    Been trying to find a video from Team USA and have come up blank so far. Do you have a link?

  10. #9
    Softball Junkie cuzmail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    On the bucket
    Posts
    956
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 257 Times in 165 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quincy View Post
    DD’s has always done a pivot. She is trying to switch to hitting lefty, not slapping yet just hitting, and that extra step towards 1st when squaring up is awful attractive.
    Im not sure she will need to square up as a lefty??

  11. #10
    Certified softball maniac quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,556
    Thanks
    349
    Thanked 248 Times in 205 Posts

    Default

    Not meaning to hickjack your thread but with the butting posts that have been here lately I have been thinking a lefty should have a different bunting style then a righty. No facts to support my thought process.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --