Loading
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Reviewing Hitter Video

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day MountieSB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked 193 Times in 119 Posts

    Default Reviewing Hitter Video

    I was talking with a coaching friend about getting ready for our respective high school pre-season batting cages in January, and the discussion of reviewing hitter videos came up. He asked what the most important things to look for were when breaking it down. After giving it some thought, here is the list I came up with. I wrote it keeping in mind what are non-negotiables, and tried to avoid too much nit-picking. Even at that, it got a little long (7 things). I'm ready for suggestions!

    1. Do they coil into load?
    2. Do they forward by coil onto the inside of the front foot? (MTS's does the hip "lead" the front knee?)
    3. Do they load the scap/pull the bow/place the hands on the shelf at toe touch? (Posture at toe touch)
    4. Do they unwind from the bottom up? (Hips and then hands)
    5. Are they on plane with the pitch? (Hitting through a long zone, appropriate shoulder tilt into contact? Are they quick to the zone/short to it and then the long through it?)
    6. Are they in a strong position at contact? (Shoulders behind the belly button, belly button behind the front knee - think power line from shoulders through feet - are they hitting inside the ball?)
    7. Are they driving the ball, regardless of pitch height, into the "line drive zone" (Hitter's 32" to 51" zone*)?

    *This may only make sense to me, so I won't try to explain it here.

    Have at it! Thanks!

    Mike
    Last edited by MountieSB; 12-29-2012 at 10:45 AM. Reason: Addition of contributor thoughts.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MountieSB For This Useful Post:

    nanotech14 (12-29-2012),Perfect Circle (12-29-2012)

  3. #2
    Out on good behavior redhotcoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3,559
    Thanks
    353
    Thanked 1,408 Times in 936 Posts

    Default

    Hey Mike, Good stuff! Your checklist is a great practical tool. IMO should be printed and used by parents. It is a list that I think could fit any of our swings and forces.

    I think on mine. #5 On plane; I would in include, "are they quick to the zone" then the long through it.
    for TRUTH, JUSTICE, AND THE AMERICAN WAY

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to redhotcoach For This Useful Post:

    MountieSB (12-29-2012)

  5. #3
    I can talk softball all day MountieSB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked 193 Times in 119 Posts

    Default

    RHC, thanks for the revision. It's been added!

  6. #4
    Softball Junkie David Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Universal City Texas
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 248 Times in 195 Posts

    Default

    You have listed everything in sequence and it is implied things should go in sequence just make sure it is a point of emphasis.

  7. #5
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball GOINGDEEP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In your face
    Posts
    4,000
    Thanks
    829
    Thanked 1,815 Times in 858 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MountieSB View Post

    1. Do they coil into load?
    2. Do they forward by coil onto the inside of the front foot? (MTS's does the hip "lead" the front knee?)
    3. Do they load the scap/pull the bow/place the hands on the shelf at toe touch? (Posture at toe touch)
    4. Do they unwind from the bottom up? (Hips and then hands)
    5. Are they on plane with the pitch? (Hitting through a long zone, appropriate shoulder tilt into contact? Are they quick to the zone/short to it and then the long through it?)
    6. Are they in a strong position at contact? (Shoulders behind the belly button, belly button behind the front knee - think power line from shoulders through feet - are they hitting inside the ball?)
    7. Are they driving the ball, regardless of pitch height, into the "line drive zone" (Hitter's 32" to 51" zone*)?
    I'm assuming these are just for instructional purposes ( mechanics )? Where you can tweak some before the season starts? If so its a good list.

    I wouldn't base my batting order by it though. Too many "real" world factors come in once they step out of the comfy cage zone.
    Arrive, raise hell, leave. - Steve Austin

  8. #6
    I can talk softball all day MountieSB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked 193 Times in 119 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GOINGDEEP View Post
    I wouldn't base my batting order by it though. Too many "real" world factors come in once they step out of the comfy cage zone.
    Oh, how I know it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --